This is the "Home" page of the "History of Science & Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

History of Science & Technology   Tags: best_bet, history_(general), science, science_general, technology  

This guide provides some suggested resources for research in the history of science and technology.
Last Updated: May 8, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/content.php?pid=27485 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Key Resources

Databases 

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews & dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine & allied historical fields. Comprises Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, Wellcome Library, etc.
Indexes literature from 1975 to the present.
ISI Web of Knowledge Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index provide information about articles and books about the history and culture of science. Citations to original scientific research can be retrieved using Science Citation Index.
Arts and Humanities Index covers 1975-current
Science Citation Index covers 1900-current
Social Sciences Citation Index covers 1956-current

Reference works

American Men and Women of Science This online version is the 22nd edition (2005). Includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists.

Dictionary of the History of Science Science Library: call #  Q 125.D451  (4th floor).   Get familiar with science terms with this subject dictionary.
Introduction:  History of Science in Non-Western Traditions The text from the History of Science Society is outlined in a teaching syllabus format for educators, but all will find the introductory text and further reading suggestions to be useful.  [Coupled with the Readings for Western science below, these two cover a wide spectrum of the development of science.]
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology The 10th edition (2007) of this 20 volume encyclopedia set focuses on a wide variety of science and technology topics.
Reading the History of Western Science: A list of good places to start Compiled and edited by Bowdoin Van Riper for the Committee on Education of the History of Science Society.  [Coupled with the Introcution to non-Western science above, these two cover a wide spectrum of the development of science.]

Web resources 

Nobel e-Museum Photographs, autobiographical entries, and Nobel Lectures back to the first laureates are accessible from this site
Scientific Identity

Portrits of scientists from the Dibner Library of the History of Science and Technology. (A Smithsonian Institution Libraries Digital Collection.)

Trailblazing (UK's Royal Society)

Trailblazing celebrates three and a half centuries of scientific endeavour.  It highlights sixty selected articles published by the Royal Society between 1665 and 2010.

Library Contact

Profile Image
JoAnn Sears
Contact Info
3042 Shapiro Science Library
Phone: (734) 936-2341
FAX: (734) 763-9813
Send Email
 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip