This is the "Introduction" page of the "Southeast Asia Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Southeast Asia Guide   Tags: asian_languages_and_culture, asian_studies, international_studies, southeast_asian_studies  

This guide provides selected library resources for researching Southeast Asia, including Indonesia, Philippines, and Thailand, Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar (Burma), Singapore, and Vietnam.
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/content.php?pid=26052 Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Help

The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.

 

Southeast Asia Collection

The Southeast Asia Division of the Area Programs Libraries selects and acquires library materials, solicits and accepts purchase recommendations, catalogues the collection, provides assistance to library users in the use of the unit's collection, and offers formal instruction in the bibliographic resources in the unit's area of expertise. Through the acquistions and cataloging of both vernacular and English language materials from the region, we support the research and instructional needs of faculty, students, visiting scholars,and independent researchers from around the world.

While three countries - Indonesia, the Philippines, and Thailand - have received the most comprehensive attention, we are also concerned with developing the collection by increasing our holdings for the other seven countries that make up the geographic region: Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar (Burma), Singapore, Timor Leste and Vietnam.

Our collection development also extends to materials that focus on Southeast Asia published in European and East Asian countries. International scholars are increasingly interested in the dynamic region of Southeast Asia and collecting these materials has become an important component of our responsibilities. In addition to the coverage of the ten Southeast Asian countries, we also collect materials pertaining to Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Island countries, such as Papua New Guinea, Fiji, and Palau.

This site has been developed to perform as a quick reference to the services and materials available in our Division. Additionally, this site is intended to act as an interface between the user and the ever-expanding index of resources pertaining to Southeast Asia found on the Internet.

Library Catalogs

  • Center for Research Libraries
    Provides access of research materials rarely held in North American Libraries. The section on Southeast Asia will reveal a sizeable holdings of periodicals held in Southeast Asian countries.
    Open to all users.
  • WorldCat
    Citations to books,periodicals, sound recordings,videos,musical scores,archival materials representing holdings of most libraries in the world.
    Restricted to UM users.

Southeast Asia

Profile Image
Fe Susan Go
Contact Info
Rm. 110-G HHGL-N
920 N University
Phone no. 734-764-7523; FAX:734-763-6743
Send Email
 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip