Research Guides: Italian Language, Literature and Culture: Dictionaries

Online Dictionaries

Accademia della Crusca
Includes a variety of dictionaries, historical and contemporary.
Dizionari Garzanti Linguistica
Italian as well as English ⇄ Italian and French ⇄ Italian.
Dizionario Etimologico
Web version of Vocabolario Etimologico della Lingua Italiana di Ottorino Pianigiani.
Grande dizionario della lingua italiana
Osservatorio Neologico della Lingua Italiana
Dictionary of neologisms based on the Italian newspapers.
Slangopedia
Crowdsourced dictionary of slang.
Tesoro della Lingua Italiana delle Origini
Historical dictionary of the Italian language,
Vocabolario della Crusca (1st edition of 1612)
Historical-normative dictionary of the "common tongue" (Crusca) that aims to perpetuate the language used by the three canonical authors of the XIV century, Dante, Petrarca and Boccaccio. When entering the dictionary, scroll down the main page and read the "Guida alla consultazione" for a better use of this source.
Vocabolario Treccani

Print Dictionaries

The most extensive collections of Italian language dictionaries can be found in Hatcher Reference Room and in general stacks in the call number range PC1580 - PC1680. Spanish-English dictionaries are in the range PC1640.

Here are some notable dictionaries:

DII dizionario: inglese-italiano, italiano-inglese
Hatcher Graduate -- Reference Room, 2nd floor North -- PC 1640 D28 2001.
Grande dizionario della lingua italiana moderna
Includes numerous quotations from modern Italian writers with the aim of clarifying the meaning and usage of words.
Vocabolario della lingua Italiana
Dictionary published by the Istituto della Enciclopedia Italiana Treccani. It also gives etymologies, foreign entries, illustrations and photos.