Individual Historical Newspaper SourcesReferences to historical newspaper articlesClipping files
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "News Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

News Sources   Tags: academic_and_specialized_news, best_bet, best_bets, business_news, conservative_and_liberal_perspectives, historical_news_sources, international_news, michigan_news, news, news_&_current_events, news_magazines, news_media, newspapers, u.s._news  

Recommended resources and search tips for finding news in a variety of formats. Includes how to find international newspapers, historical newspapers, articles with a particular viewpoint, how to evaluate sources, and much more.
Last Updated: May 29, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/news Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

General News Databases - Highly Recommended

Not sure where to start? These online databases allow you to search through hundreds of newspapers at the same time.

  • Access World News (Newsbank)
    Search hundreds of U.S. newspapers at the same time, along with some international. Includes many local and regional US papers.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic
    Click "News" tab to search through US and international newspapers, some radio and TV broadcast transcripts, non-English news sources, and business and industry news. Includes New York Times and Washington Post from recent years.
  • Library Press Display
    View *images* of the last 60 days of over 300 newspapers from around the world. The newspapers include the same content and are in the same format as the print edition of the newspaper. Includes photographs and advertisements.
  • ProQuest News and Current Events
    Access to several news databases from ProQuest, which include business news, historical newspapers, ethnic and alternative newspapers.
  • InfoTrac Newstand
  • Factiva
    This database offers full text articles in 6,000 trade publications, newspapers, newswires and magazines as well as company and industry financial data and news stories.
  • MANY MORE historical news sources
    Additional resources under the "Historical News Sources" tab above.
 

Navigating the News Tutorial

Navigating News Resources (tutorial)

Use these questions to get started on your search

  • What is the time frame?
  • What type of media?
  • What format?
  • Do you need a particular publication?
  • What region of the world?
  • Do you need a particular type of content?
  • Is your focus on a particular audience?

Click the PDF link below to open an interactive map tutorial in a new tab or window, and start with the questions above.

Where to Find Newspapers in the U-M Library

  • MLibrary collects recent issues (usually the last few months) of some papers in print. Older issues are kept on microfilm, viewable using digital scanners located in the Hatcher Graduate Library on the 2nd floor.
  • View the newspapers page on the library website for more details on what papers we receive in print and on microfilm, and find more details about our newspaper collection.
      
     

    Need a particular title? Check Mirlyn

    Use Mirlyn, the library catalog, to look up a particular title:

    Do a "journal/serial name" search for the name of the periodical

    Contact

    We welcome your feedback on our web site.

    Copyright

    Creative Commons

    Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

    ©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip