Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

History 202: Doing History

A research guide for students in History 202: Doing History, the gateway seminar for history concentrators.

How do I find scholarly articles?

While Mirlyn (the library catalog) is useful for finding books and journals, it will not tell you what articles are inside a journal. In order to find articles, you need to use a database that indexes articles in journals.

Not seeing a database that matches your topic?


You can browse a list of databases by subject area by using the browse function at the library web page.  Using the drop-down menu, select the area that most closely matches your area of research.  Women's Studies, for example, is classified as a social science, whereas U.S. History is classified under Humanties.  Once you select your area of research, click "go," and you will see a list of recommended databases in that subject area.

Discipline-specific Databases

Cross-Disciplinary Databases

Cross-Disciplinary Databases:

  • JSTOR: Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Note: JStor provides broad coverage of scholarly journals and full-text access; however, in many cases, the most recent 2-4 years of a journal are not covered.

  • Project MUSE: Full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
  • ArticlesPlus: Access to over a half-billion articles from nearly 100,000 journals, newspapers and magazines.

Note: ArticlesPlus is a single-search, cross-disciplinary database with the broadest coverage of any database owned by U of M.  Because it is so broad, however, it can be difficult to get relevant results.

  • ProQuest Research Library: Indexes over 5,000 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971.