Full-text newspaper and magazine collections (Historical and Current)
- ProQuest News & Current EventsCombined access to all 40 ProQuest news databases, both historical and current, including ProQuest Newsstand & Gannett Newsstand
- Proquest Historical NewspapersFull-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of 11 U.S. and 2 U.K. newspapers, including: the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune; 6 major African- American community newspapers--Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, and Pittsburgh Courier; and two major British newspapers--The Guardian and The Observer. Includes original page images digitized from microfilm.
- Nexis UniProvides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines.
- 19th-Century U.S. NewspapersContains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
- Chronicling America (from the Library of Congress)Includes full-text digital images of U.S. newspapers from 1836-1922.
- Periodicals Index Online/Periodicals Archive OnlineAn index to over 14 million articles in more than 4,250 humanities and social science journals, from their first issues through 1995.
- Readers Guide Full TextCovers 375 popular periodicals published in the U.S. & Canada from 1890 to the present.
Newspapers on Microfilm
Many historical newspapers are only available on microfilm. To search Library Catalog Search for newspapers, try searching for "newspapers OR periodicals" as a subject term and then specify location (i.e., United States or San Francisco) as another subject term.
If you aren't finding the newspapers that you need at U-M, try searching WorldCat or the Center for Research Libraries (CRL). If you find a newspaper that you need at CRL, fill out an interlibrary loan request form and specify that there are copies at CRL.
Another place to check for newspapers is in print bibliographies. Try searching Library Catalog Search for the following subject terms Newspapers OR periodicals AND bibliographies OR indexes OR catalogs.
Some examples include:
Encyclopedic directory of ethnic newspapers and periodicals in the United States
Finding News Databases
You can find a complete list of news databases by using the browse menu from the library homepage. Select "News & Current Events."
