Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

French Languages and Literatures

Provides selected sources and useful research-related sites in the field of French language and literature.

Microfilm sets

Archives biographiques francaises (French Biographical Archives)
A collection, in alphabetical order, of over 180 biographical reference works published from the seventeenth to the twentieth century. It includes biographies from French-speaking Canada, Belgium, Switzerland, and French colonies.
Hatcher Graduate - Serials and Microforms - MICRO-F 1856 Hatcher Graduate - Serials and Microforms - MICRO-F 4373 Print index for the collection, Index biographique français. Hatcher Graduate CT 1003 .I531 1998

 

Corpus Montaigne
Includes all works published during Michel de Montaigne’s lifetime and after his death in various editions; contains Théologie naturelle de Raymond Sebon, Journal de voyage, Ephémérides, Oeuvres de la Boétie, essays, marginalia, and correspondence. Hatcher Graduate - Serials and Microforms - CD-ROM GL44

 

The Dreyfus affair in the making of modern France
These rare and fragile primary materials include monographs, pamphlets, newspaper clippings and cartoons concerning the Dreyfus Affair. Text of the accompanying guide is in English and French.
Hatcher Graduate - Serials and Microforms FILM 32272

 

European music manuscripts in the British Library: Austrian, French, German, Russian, Spanish and other European music c. 1640-1820
French music includes nine Lully manuscripts, including Dragonetti's manuscript of Lully's eight earliest operas, ten manuscripts of French songs, five Motets à Grands Choeurs by Mondonville, three Méhul manuscripts, a Gluck autograph, songs by J.J. Rousseau and operas by Grétry.
Music Library Microforms FILM MX161

Quick Links