Skip to main content

Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) : Using the collections

Get started with user registration, submitting requests to use items in the reading room, preparing to work in the reading room, and requesting copies

SCRC Basics

What does SCRC do?

In keeping with the University Library’s mission to collect, describe, preserve, and make available the record of human knowledge, the Special Collections Research Center acquires, cares for, interprets, and promotes the use of important collections of unique, rare, primary source, and other material in all formats and in a variety of subject areas. 

What kinds of collections does SCRC have?

Our holdings consist of approximately 300,000 volumes and more than 8,000 linear feet of archival and manuscript material. Notable collections and subject strengths include the papers of distinguished authors, poets, and filmmakers; medieval and Renaissance manuscripts; early printed books (including more than 350 incunables); European military history; American culinary history; anarchism, radicalism, and social protest; children’s literature; Philippine history; the early histories of astronomy, mathematics, and medicine; and transportation history.

Who can use SCRC collections?

The Special Collections Research Center is open to students, faculty, visiting researchers, and the general public.

How can I access SCRC collections?

Our collections do not circulate; requested material can be used in our reading room on the sixth floor of the Hatcher Graduate Library. We encourage you to contact us in advance of your visit. 

Photography is allowed, and photocopying and digital reproduction services are available, upon request, subject to the physical condition of the item and relevant copyright laws.

How can I talk to someone about SCRC collections, use, donations, or other topics?

Email is the most effective way to contact us: special.collections@umich.edu.  We attempt to respond to email inquiries within 2 business days.

You can also call 734-764-9377, which is answered as staff are available during reading room hours, or you can leave a voicemail.  Similar to emails, we attempt to respond to voicemails within 2 business days. 

You can also get in touch directly with our curators and other staff -- see SCRC Staff page on this guide for individuals' areas of responsibility and contact information.

 

SCRC Location Info and Directions

 

Directions

The Special Collections Research Center is located in the Harlan Hatcher Graduate Library, 913 S. University Ave., Ann Arbor, MI 48109.  Our public spaces occupy the east suite on the 6th floor of the Hatcher Library's South building.

From Hatcher's south entrance, ride the elevators up to the 6th floor.

From Hatcher's north entrance, take stairs or elevator up to 2 North, cross (past Ask a Librarian desk) to 2 South elevator lobby, ride the south elevators up to the 6th floor.  

From the elevators, go through double doors, then left to join us in the SCRC Suite (rooms 660A - 660E).

 

Restrooms

The 6th floor has an accessible, single-stall, all-gender restroom, as well as multi-stall restrooms designated for men and women.

 

Building Accessibility, Parking, etc.

For further details regarding the Hatcher Graduate Library's accessibility, please see the location information for this building/facility on our website.