Sources for Evidence Based Research
Integrated "5S" Levels of Organization of Evidence Pyramid
Modified from: Haynes RB. Of studies, syntheses, synopses, summaries and systems: the “5S" evolution of services for evidence-based health care decisions. ACP J Club. 2006 Nov-Dec;145(3):A8-9.
The Integrated "5S" Levels of Organization of Evidence Pyramid depicts the relationship between the Evidence Hierarchy (the small, inset pyramid) and the "5S" model. The Integrated Pyramid also includes foundational resources that do not have transparent evidence-based methodologies.
The Integrated Pyramid is labeled with resources available at the University of Michgian.
Synoposes
Synoposes: "Succinct descriptions "of an individual study or systematic review found in evidence-based abstraction journals
- ACP Journal ClubThe editors of ACP Journal Club screen the top clinical journals on a regular basis and identify studies that are both methodologically sound and clinically relevant for which they write an enhanced abstract and provide a commentary on the value of the article for clinical practice.
- Evidence Based NursingSelections from the health related literature research studies and reviews that report important advances relevant to best nursing practice.
Syntheses
Syntheses: Systematic reviews which represent a "comprehensive summary of all research evidence related to a focused clinical question"
- The Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- Database of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE)Full Text database containing critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals.
- Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database (via OVID) This link opens in a new windowFor finding and using evidence to inform clinical decision-making at point of care.
Studies
Studies: Source of original studies
- PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new windowThis database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled TrialsA bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration in the course of their work on the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR).