Catalog Search results will include everything in our physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.
Starting a research paper? Look for an article on your topic in these resources
Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
The International Studies Encyclopedia', published in association with the International Studies Association (ISA), is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations. It brings together specially commissioned, peer reviewed essays, written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers
Examines the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics and highlights the intersections of politics with other disciplines. Explore wide range of concepts and frameworks, both Western and non-Western, national and international.
This work is a product of the International Studies Compendium Project and is published in association with the International Studies Association. Includes topic areas such as peace studies, diplomacy studies, foreign policy analysis, global development and environmental studies. The print edition was published in 12 volumes in 2010.
Collection of over 30 political science reference books, including current and all past issues. Includes CQ Almanac, Exit Polls: Surveying the Amerian Electorate, Guide to Political Campaigns in America, Guide to the Presidency, Encyclopedia of Political Science, Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census, Federal regulatory Directory, Washington Information Directory, Historic Documents Series and many others. UM User Only.
Writing in Political Science: A Brief Guide applies the key concepts of rhetoric and composition - audience, purpose, genre, and credibility - to examples based in political science. It is part of a series of brief, discipline-specific writing guides from Oxford University Press designed fortoday's writing-intensive college courses. The series is edited by Tom Deans (University of Connecticut) and Mya Poe (Northeastern University).
This concise methodological guide is geared to undergraduates making the transition between descriptive and analytical work.
Writing a Research Paper in Political Science by Lisa A. Baglione
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
This book is in the Shapiro Undergraduate Library. Writing an introduction, coming up with effective headings and titles, presenting a conclusion, and the important steps of editing and revising are covered with class-tested advice and know-how in this book.
Empirical Research and Writing by Leanne C. (Christine) Powner
Publication Date: 2014-11-21
This book is in the Shapiro Undergraduate Library. It offers clear and detailed, instructions for formulating hypothesis, doing pre-research, selecting appropriate research designs, selecting cases, collecting and managing both qualitative and quantitative data, preparing data for analysis, writing up research findings, practicing peer review, and delivering findings in posters and presentations, and preparing work for publication.