Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOC 335: Urban Inequality

Recommended resources for students in SOC 335 (Winter 2020).

Social Explorer

Recommended Database for American Community Survey Data

How do I cite Census data from Social Explorer?

Additional Databases with ACS, Census, and Other Data Sources

Data by Topic

The major databases for local area statistics (see above, "Additional Databases with ACS, Census, and Other Data Sources") will include some variables on the topics of crime, education, health, etc. Follow up on the specific variable source information as needed for more information (i.e., go to the original source of the data).

The list below provides some pointers as to where you can locate additional data on potential variables of interest in crime, education, and health.

Crime Data

The FBI collects and publishes crime statistics through the Uniform Crime Reporting Program.

Geographic area availability is by state, county, and police jurisdiction or city.

This data is available directly from the FBI, and is also re-packaged in a number of different resources:

For additional information about crime statistics, see the research guides for Crime Statistics - Finding Data & Statistics, and also Criminal Justice Data & Statistics (MSU Library).

Education Data

The American Community Survey includes statistics on educational attainment.

For data on schools, the National Center for Education Statistics is the federal agency that compiles and distributes information.

The State of Michigan maintains the MI School Data portal site; further information is available from the Michigan Department of Education.

Health Data

The American Community Survey includes some health variables such as health insurance coverage, fertility, and disability status.

The primary federal agency that collects health statistics is the National Center for Health Statistics at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

The relevant state agency is the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. At the county level is the Wayne County Health Department. For the city, the Detroit Health Department.

Try PolicyMap for health data. In the Reports section, there is a Community Health Report option.

See the Health Statistics Guide for additional links and information.

Other Topics