Library Contact
Jamie Niehof
Contact:
2321-D Duderstadt Center
Art, Architecture & Engineering Library, Duderstadt Center
UM North Campus
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Art, Architecture & Engineering Library, Duderstadt Center
UM North Campus
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
734-763-2690
Open Access Journals
Many scholarly journals are Open Access, allowing the public to read their contents without subscriptions or university affiliations. The Directory of Open Access Journals is a good place to start.
Getting Started
Many academic databases are behind university logins and require an affiliation to access. The list of resources on this page are all available for free, open on the web.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is Google's version of an academic database with scholarly articles.
Try a live search here:
General Databases
- arXivOpen access to 1,599,675 e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
- engrXivengrXiv (Engineering Archive) is dedicated to the dissemination of engineering knowledge quickly and efficiently.
- MatWebSearchable database of material properties: includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
- PubMed CentralPubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection.
Michigan eLibrary
The resources below are provided by the Michigan eLibrary, and are free to use for any resident of Michigan. If any of these links don't work, please start directly at the MeL site here.
Outside of Michigan look for similar state-wide resources, like OhioLINK.
- Applied Science & Technology SourceBroad coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines. Content derives from leading trade journals, professional and technical society publications, and conference proceedings.
- Environment CompleteScholarly, academic coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and related areas.
- eBook Academic CollectionThousands of titles ranging from literary criticism to health, mathematics, sports, and religion. You may access the full text of these eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.
- eBook Academic Collection — Engineering & TechnologyJust the engineering and technology collections, including such subjects as heat transfer, materials science, and applied chemistry.
- Auto Repair SourceRepair information and schedules, diagrams, parts and labor estimates, service alerts, and recalls. Covers thousands of domestic and imported vehicles.
Last Updated: Nov 14, 2024 3:51 PM
Subjects: Engineering