Searching using AI
AI-assisted literature searching applies artificial intelligence and machine learning to the act of searching the literature, possibly finding connections that you wouldn't normally find. The tools below are a starting point.
Raxter
— https://raxter.io
Research Rabbit
— researchrabbit.
Iris
— https://iris.ai
Scite (paid app | instructions)
— https://scite.ai
Top Robotics Databases
Search for journal articles, conference papers, standards, preprints, and more in these databases. For a complete list of databases associated with the Robotics field, see U-M Library Databases — Robotics.
FEATURED DATABASE:
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of ACM publications, including journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings, and newsletters.
- Compendex (on Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowProvides international coverage of engineering and applied science literature in journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, standards and online courses, plus related e-books.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new windowCovers the world-wide literature (mainly journal articles and conference proceeding papers) in astronomy, physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
- Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowCross-search access to: Web of Science, BIOSIS, Zoological Record, MEDLINE, etc.
- Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links) This link opens in a new windowSearches for scholarly documents on the web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.
Preprint Robotics Articles in arXiv
Many robotics researchers deposit their manuscripts in arXiv before the peer review process. These are known as preprints. The Robotics sub-group in arXiv is arxiv cs.RO and its direct link is:
https://arxiv.org/list/cs.RO/recent
More information about preprints and their importance and drawbacks here. [link tbd]
To learn how to create an alert at arXiv to receive notifications of new deposits of interest, see the Alerts in arXiv page of this Research Guide.
- arXiv Preprints This link opens in a new windowOpen access to preprints in physics, mathematics, robotics, non-linear science, computer science and quantitative biology.
Recent robotics preprints from arxiv:
Off-Campus Access
Lean Library Extension
The Lean Library Access browser extension offers quick and easy access to online library resources. You can download the extension (available for Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Opera and Safari on desktops and laptops) for free.
Instructions for implementing | Video on YouTube
Once the extension is installed, then when you are browsing the web, either for books or articles, you will see a pop-up on your screen if U-M Library has the resource in our collection. Here is an example of a Data Mining book at Amazon that the library has in ebook form.
The EZ Proxy Bookmarklet
The proxy bookmarklet lets you reload a web page through the U-M Library's proxy server. If the page you are visiting is one that the library has a subscription for, and you're presently off-campus, then you should get immediate access to the resource once you've logged in with your uniqname and UMICH password and have been verified to have a valid library account.
*note: the Proxy Bookmarklet will not work if you are connecting through the VPN
Using a VPN to connect to the University of Michigan’s network will allow you to use Library resources like databases and ebooks without authenticating each time with a username and password. Download and see instructions here.
*note: the Proxy Bookmarklet will not work if you are connecting through the VPN