Recommended Library Databases for Articles
About Library Databases
Library databases (also known as "indexes") identify articles published on a particular topics. In addition to journal articles, many databases will also identify book chapters, dissertations, and other reports.
- Full Text: Note that the full text of articles will not always be available directly within a library database. When the full text is not located in the database, look for the MGet It button. Click on MGet It to connect to the full text.
- Saving Article Links: Note that the URLs in your browser bar for database searches are temporary and are usually not persistent. Look for database tools that allow you to copy and paste citations, and/or look for permalinks or document URLs in the article records, and/or options to email yourself the citation and a link back to the article.
Best Bets
Start your scholarly literature research in one of these subject specific databases. Select the subject area most applicable to your community context.
Sociology Databases
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Covers 1800+ journals, back to 1952.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes 1,800 sociology-related journals & magazines back to 1895, with full text for 620 of them, plus indexing for books, etc.
Criminal Justice Database
- Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowContains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
Education Database
- ERIC [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowU.S. Dept. of Education database providing extensive access to educational-related literature.
Public Health Database
- PubMed @ U-M (with MGet It links) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 27 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases.
Additional Database Options
Not finding what you need in the "best bet" database for your community context? Select one of these databases:
Multidisciplinary Database (Scholarly Articles)
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCovering 12,000+ scholarly journals, plus selected books and published conference proceedings in all academic disciplines.
Multidisciplinary Database (Scholarly and Popular Articles—e.g., newspapers and magazines)
- U-M Library Articles Search This link opens in a new windowUse Articles Search to locate scholarly and popular articles, as well as reference works and materials from open access archives.
Other Subject-Specific Databases
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowPrimary journal index for nursing & allied health professions. Especially useful for the psycho-social aspects of health care.
- PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new windowPremier resource for surveying the literature of psychology and adjunct fields. Covers 1887-present. Produced by the APA.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare and social policy.