Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Comm 490: Celebrity Effects

Suggested popular culture resources for celebrity studies. Includes both primary and secondary sources. Professor Jan Van den Bulck, Fall 2018

MLA Works Cited Examples

Please note: this section is currently being updated with 8th edition guidelines. Not all information on this section will be true for the MLA 8th edition guidelines. 1/7/19

Examples of preparing reference citations and the list of works cited are taken from the MLA Handbook, 8th Edition (available in reference shelves of the Shapiro Undergraduate Library and the Hatcher Graduate Library [where one copy is always held on reserve at the circulation desk], call number LB 2369.G53 2016).

Alphabetize entries in the list of works cited by the author’s last name. If the author is anonymous, alphabetize by title, ignoring initial articles (like “The,” “An,” etc.).
 

Core Elements 

The works cited should include as many core elements as are relevant to the source as possible. The list below, taken directly from the MLA style handbook, lists the elements for each source in the order they should appear in a citation. MLA 8th edition only uses periods and commas to indicate the end of an element, as noted in the list below.

Author.

List the author's last name first, followed by comma and the the first name.

Title of Source.
Standard capitalization rules should be used for the title. If the source is standalone, such as the name of a book or journal, it should be italicized. If the source is part of a larger work, the title should be placed in quotation marks.
Title of container,
When a source is part of a larger whole, such as a chapter in a book, the larger whole is known as the container. The title of the container should follow standard capitalization rules and be italicized. More than one container can be listed, such as an article in an online journal (container 1) located in an online database (container 2).
Other contributors,
A description of the role other contributors had in the creation of a work should be noted before listing the name of the contributor. For example "translated by" or "edited by"
Version,
Books with more than one version may use the terminology "edition" instead.  Unabridged versions and director's cut versions should also be noted under this element.
Number,
This can indicate an issue or volume number. Generally, you should follow the volume number with the issue number if available (vol. x, no. x)
Publisher,
If more than one publisher is listed, use a forward slash to divide the names of each. 
Publication date,
If possible, the publication date should be listed as: day month, year. For example 21 Jan. 2019.
Location.
The location can be indicated through a URL or doi for an online resource, or by noting a page number (p. x.) or a range of page numbers (pp. x-x.)

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Article from a Database

Last Name, First Name, and First Name Last Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal, vol. x, no. x, year, pp. x-x. Database name, doi. 

Note: If no doi is provided, use the URL instead. An access date can be provided at the end, although it's not required. 
 

Chan, Evans. "Postmodernism and Hong Kong Cinema." Postmodern Culture, vol. 10, no. 3, May 2000. Project Muse,

       doi: 10.1353/pmc.2000.0021
 

Article in an Online Scholarly Journal

Last Name, First Name. "Title." Title of Journal

Belton, John. "Painting by the Numbers: The Digital Intermediate." Film Quarterly, vol. 61, no. 3, Spring 2008, pp.         58-65.

Print Journal Articles (Manual, section 5.4.2):

 

From a Journal with Continuous pagination:

Trumpener, Katie. “Memories Carved in Granite: Great War Memories and Everyday

Life.” PMLA 115 (2000): 1096-1103. Print.

 

From a Journal that numbers pages in each issue separately:

Barthelme, Frederick. “Architecture.” Kansas Quarterly 13.3-4 (1981): 77-80. Print.

 

From a Newspaper:

Jeromack, Paul. “This Once, a David of the Art World Does Goliath a Favor.” New

            York Times 13 July 2002, late ed.: B7+. Print.

 

From a Magazine (signed):

Weintraub, Arlene, and Laura Cohen. “A Thousand-Year Plan for Nuclear Waste.”

            Business Week 6 May. 1993: 94-96. Print.

 

From a Magazine (anonymous):

“Dubious Venture.” Time 3 Jan. 1994: 64-65. Print.

 

Nonperiodical Digital Materials (Manual, section 5.6.2):

 

A Work Cited Only on the Web:

Eaves, Morris, Robert Essick, and Joseph Viscomi, eds. The William Blake Archive.

            Lib. of Cong., 8 May 2008. Web. 15 May 2008.

 

A Work on the Web Cited with Print Publication Data:

Bierce, Ambrose. “Academy.” The Devil’s Dictionary. The Collected Works of Ambrose

            Bierce. Vol. 7. New York: Neale, 1911. N. pag. The Ambrose Bierce Project.

Web. 15 May 2008.

Nonperiodical Print Materials (Manual, section 5.5):

 

By a single author:

Franke, Damon. Modernist Heresies: British Library History, 1883-1924. Columbus:

            Ohio State UP, 2008. Print.

 

By Two or More authors:

Booth, Wayne C., Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams. The Craft of Research.

2nd ed. Chicago: U of Chicago P, 2003. Print.

 

By a Corporate Author:

Urban Land Institute. Cities Post-9/11. Washington: Urban Land Inst., 2002. Print.

 

An Anthology:

Kepner, Susan Fulop, ed. and trans. The Lioness in Bloom: Modern Thai Fiction about

            Women. Berkeley: U of California P, 1996. Print.

 

A Work in an Anthology:

Allende, Isabel. “Toad’s Mouth.” Trans. Margaret Sayers Peden. A Hammock between

the Mangoes: Stories from Latin America. Ed. Thomas Colchie. New York:

Plume, 1992. 83-88. Print.

 

An Article in a Reference Book:

“Ginsburg, Ruth Bader.” Who’s Who in America. 62nd ed. 2008. Print.

 

A Multivolume Work:

Blanco, Richard L., ed. The American Revolution, 1775-1783: An Encyclopedia.

2 vols. Hamden: Garland, 1993. Print.

 

A Government Publication (manual, section 5.5.20).  See also Citing Gov Docs tab:

United States. Cong. A Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the

United States, September 5, 1774-March 4, 1881. Comp. Benjamin Perley

Poore. 48th Cong., 2nd sess. Misc. Doc. 67. Washington: GPO, 1885. Print.

 

MLA In Text Citation Examples

Parenthetical notes are used instead of footnotes. References in the text must clearly point to specific sources in the list of the works cited. Keep parenthetical references as brief, and as few, as clarity and accuracy permit. Usually the author’s last name and a page reference are enough to identify the sources and the specific location: (Townsend 10).

 

If two or three names begin the entry, give the last name of each person: (Rabkin, Greenberg, and Olander vii).

 

If the work has more than three authors, follow the form in the bibliographic entry: either give the first author’s last name followed by et al., without any punctuation (Lauter et al. 2425-33) or give all the last names.

 

If you include the author’s name in a sentence, you need not repeat the name in the parenthetical page citation that follows, provided that the reference is clearly to the work of the author you mention: Tannen has argued this point (178-85).

 

If you wish to cite an entire work rather than part of the work, it is usually preferable to include the author’s name in the text instead of in a parenthetical reference. But Peter Scotto has offered another view.

 

When citing a volume number as well as a page reference for a multi-volume work, separate the two by a colon and a space: (Wellek 2: 1-10).

 

In a parenthetical reference of one of two or more works by the same author, put a comma after the author’s last name and add the title of the work (if brief) or a shortened version and the relevant page reference. (Durant and Durant, Age 214-48).

 

 

Additional Common Sources

 

Television or Radio Broadcast:

“Death and Society.” Narr. Joan Silberner. Weekend Edition Sunday. Natl. Public

            Radio. WUWM, Milwaukee, 25 Jan. 1990. Radio.

 

Don Giovanni. By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Perf. James Morris, Bryn Terfel, and

            Carol Vaness. Lyric Opera of Chicago. Cond. Yakov Kreizberg. Nuveen-Lyric

Opera of Chicago Radio Network. WFMT, Chicago, 8 June 1996. Radio.

 

“The Phantom of Corleone.” Narr. Steve Kroft. Sixty Minutes. CBS. WCBS, New

            York, 10 Dec. 2006. Television.

 

 A Sound Recording:

Camper Van Beethoven. “Ambiguity Song.”

Ellington, Duke, cond. First Carnegie Hall Concert. Duke Ellington Orch. Rec. 23 Jan.

            1943. Prestige, 1977. LP.

 

A Film or a Video Recording:

It’s a Wonderful Life. Dir. Frank Capra. Perf. James Stewart, Donna Reed, Lionel

Barrymore, and Thomas Mitchell. RKO, 1946. Film.

 

A Video on the Web:

Hilary Clinton Sopranos Parody. 19 June 2007. YouTube. Web. 25 June 2009.

 

Wikis (Because the entries may change, date of last update and retrieval date are  very important):

“Hip Hop Music.” Wikipedia. Wikimedia Foundation, 2 Mar. 2006. Web. 18 Mar. 2009.

“Negation in Languages.” UniLang.org. UniLang, 22 Apr. 2006. Web. 9 June 2009.