1. Enter your search in PubMed (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/)
2. Open FLink (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Structure/flink/flink.cgi)
3. Open the "Please choose a database to start" menu and select "PubMed"
4. Select "Input from Entrez History" from the dialog box that allows you to select your desired input method
5. a. Use the pull-down menu on that tab to view a list of your recent PubMed searches; b. Select the PubMed query for which you'd like to download a CSV formatted search results file; c. Press "Submit"
6. FLink will now display your search results in a "PubMed" folder tab.
7. Select the "Download CSV" option and choose to "open" or "save" the file, as desired. (The browser window will also display the URL at which your results can be retrieved.)
8. The columns in a CSV file will depend on the database you accessed through FLink. For PubMed, the columns will include:
A. UID (PMID)
B. Authors C. PubDate (Year)
D. PubDate (Month)
E. Title of article
F. Summary (which includes the following information in a single cell: Authors, title, journal name, year, month [if applicable], volume, issue, pages)
Note that an additional "frequency" column will appear in any CSV file that contains data from a FLink "destination" database. In the example above, the CSV file does not contain a "frequency" column because we used PubMed as the starting ("source") database.
However, if you started your FLink operation in the Entrez Gene database, for example, and then used the "LinkTo" function to retrieve associated PubMed records, PubMed would be the "destination" database. In that case, the resulting PubMed CSV file would contain a "frequency" column, and the value in that column would indicate how many of the gene records from your input list had links to each PubMed record in your output list.
Mendeley is a citation management tool that, like many others, lets you collect and organize citations, and then easily insert them into documents and format bibliographies. But it also lets you drag and drop PDFs into your library and extracts the metadata for you--voila, you have a library! It automatically renames PDFs with the author last name, title, and date, so that you no longer have goups of PDFs titled "fulltext.pdf."
You can highlight and annotate your PDFs and share them with others. Colleagues can then also annotate the same document, with each author displaying as a different color.
Use more than one device? It's not a problem! Download Mendeley Desktop to as many computers/devices as you want, then synch them with a click of your mouse. Need to use your library away from your computer? Mendeley Web gives you access to your citations no matter where you are.
Mendeley is social: create a profile, follow other researchers, create a network of people doing similar research. Discover the articles and journals that are being read in your field right now.
Create collections of papers. Make them public and share them with an RSS feed (great for class reading lists!).
Mendeley's free version has some limitations on space(1 GB web storage, 500 MB each for personal shared storage) and users (5) and shared collections (10), but you can purchase premium plans for more web and personal storage space and more users and shared groups.
Mendeley's User Forum lets you suggest changes to the program and then shows you how many votes your idea has and if Mendeley is going to use it.