Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Chinese-language Resources in STEM Fields

This guide provides information on finding Chinese-language resources in the science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields.

Full-text article databases

For all of these databases, it's easiest to find the article citation in an English-language database (Web of Science, PubMed, etc.) and then find the full-text in these Chinese-language databases.

Search these databases for full-text articles:

  This database has an English interface (but is sometimes unstable). To switch to the English interface, use the dropdown menu in the upper right corner. Database is searchable in English and the search results will appear in both English and Chinese. Article titles and abstracts are also available in English.  

  • Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services 臺灣電子期刊服務網

    This database doesn't have an English interface but can be searched with English keywords using the top search bar. Some article titles and abstracts will appear in English in the search results. To search by ISSN or ISBN, click on the second word on the blue header (shown below) and then click on the drop down menu to select ISSN or ISBN. 

Print journals

In addition to electronic access to Chinese language journals, the U-M Library has many print journals in its collections. Search the catalog by Language: Chinese and Format: Serial to see the print journals we own. 

Indexing databases

The databases listed below index (i.e. provide the citation and abstract) some articles in Chinese-language journals. The full-text of the article is not available through these databases so there is no 'MGetIt' button in the citation. 

To find the full-text of articles, use the resources listed in the 'Full-text article databases' box (left). 

Within Web of Science, you can search their Chinese Science Citation Database. This database already contains over 1,200 scientific journals and 2 million records and it's growing by 200,000 records annually. (From the Web of Science homepage, select Chinese Science Citation Database from the dropdown menu next to the orange Search button on the header.) 

Looking for a specific Chinese journal?

Looking for a specific Chinese journal but not sure which database to use?

The Directory of Core Journals in Chinese and Foreign Languages 中外文核心期刊查询系统  lists core journals (journals that have high quality standards and are the most influential in their fields), including which databases they are available in. (No English interface)