Deirdre's Profile
Biographical and Art Informational Print Resources
-
Benezit Dictionary of ArtistsComprehensive historical and international information resource about artists. It includes biographical as well as related museum and gallery information.
N 40 .B4653 2006 vols. 1-14 -
Grove Dictionary of ArtAuthoritative encyclopedia of arts, artists, and movements. Includes non-western art and architecture. Essays are written by established scholars.
N 31 .D53 1996 vols. 1- 34
Online Art Resources Requiring U of M Login
-
ArtBibliographies ModernThis database is dedicated to the study of modern and contemporary art. It covers all art forms, from painting, sculpture and photography to video, body art and graffiti. Full abstracts and indexing from the late 1960s on.
-
Art & Architecture SourceCovers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
-
ArtstorAn image database for the arts and sciences, compiled from major museum collections.
-
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is an index to scholarly literature on Western art and art history, incorporating journal articles, monographs, essay collections, and conference proceedings. It is a successor database to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). IBA includes citations for works published or indexed from 2008 through the present.
-
Oxford Art OnlineOnline version of comprehensive art reference works including Grove Dictionary of Art. All forms of the visual arts are covered: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography. Time span is from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes 41,000 articles and 10,000 color images.
Open Access Databases -- No U of M Login Required
-
Art, Architecture & Engineering Library, Lantern Slide CollectionContains digital images created from lantern slides showing architecture, cities, and landscapes from the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Databases which may be accessed from off campus
-
Art Images for College Teachingfree exchange of image resources for and among Art History teaching images for members of the educational community. While the AICT site is maintained and distributed under the general auspices of the Minneapolis College of Art & Design (MCAD), this institution is not responsible for content or use thereof. All work on the AICT is voluntary.
-
Bibliography of the History of ArtThe Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) its predecessor (RILA) for no charge on its Web site. These citation databases on the history of art, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) at www.csa.com.
-
Bulletin - The University of Michigan Museums of Art and Archaeology (vols. 1-14)The Bulletin of the University of Michigan Museums of Art and Archaeology was a joint publication of the University of Michigan Museum of Art, the Kelsey Museum of Archaeology, and the Department of the History of Art. The Bulletin was published from 1978 to 2008. The archive of these issues will be permanently available via this collection.
-
Documents of Latin American and Latino ArtThis archive provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.
-
Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links)Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
-
Metropolitan Museum of Art Timeline of Art HistoryImages of art and design throughout history, presented in timeline format.
-
University of Michigan Museum of ArtApproximately 16,000 high quality digital images of works in the collections of the University of Michigan Museum of Art (UMMA).
-
U-M Library Catalog Search
Catalog Search results will include everything in the University of Michigan Library physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.
General Article Databases Requiring U of M Login
-
JSTORProvides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
-
ProquestIndexes over 5,000 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971. Dissertation access is also available.
Last Updated: Nov 22, 2025 3:39 PM