Research Guides: SI 501: Contextual Inquiry and Consulting Foundations: Finding Statistics

Statista

Statista This link opens in a new window
A portal for current statistics from private and government sources on wide range of topics, including technology, health, public opinion and market research.

Statistics on Local Communities

Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Create maps and reports based on decennial censuses of 1940 to 2010.
data.census.gov
data.census.gov is an online source for accessing population, housing, economic and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Users can create thematic maps from the table view of a product.
more...less...
To creata a map, user must select at least 2 like geopgraphies (e.g. 2 or more states, or 2 or more counties) to map. Creat a Map tutorial is as follows: http://factfinder2.census.gov/help/en/tutorials/createmap_tut.htm.
County and City Data Book
1949 - 2007 in print and selected issues online. Census data on age, agriculture, births, business establishments, climate, construction, crime, deaths, earnings, education, elections, employment, finance, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force, manufactures, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, social services, and water use
Simply Analytics
SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data. Data can be downloaded for use with other software such as Excel and GIS.
OECD Metropolitan Areas
Statistics for the largest metropolitan areas of OECD member countries

US Statistics

The United States government produces a large amount of data. A list of agencies that compile statistics can be found here

Data.gov
It is US government portal for data including geospatial data. Provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datastes.
Data and Statistics about the United States
Description of federal statistical agencies
Historical Statistics of the United States
A compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources. Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Tables can be downloaded in Excel or CSV format.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, private companies, and intergovernmental organizations. Create maps and reports from data you select from over 640 datasets. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Formerly called LexisNexis Statistical, ProQuest Statistical Insight indexes and abstracts federal statistical publications since 1974, business and state government publications since 1980, and international agency publications since 1983. Provides links to full text of 15% of federal publications.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer contains data from the first Census in 1790 to the present day. Using their data, the user can generate maps of population or specific demographic variables by location, as well as reports. It is important to remember that it can be difficult to map demographic data over time, since the questions asked and methods used have not remained consistent.

Finding Statistics on Nonprofit Organizations

GuideStar

GuideStar's database contains data on more than 900,000 public charities, approximately 118,000 private foundations, and nearly half a million other exempt organizations in the United States. Federal 990 forms can be accessed through Guidestar.

Kresge Business Library - Guide to Nonprofits and NGOs

Resources compiled by librarians from U-M Kresge Business Library. Categories include links to nonprofit organizations, nonprofit databases, and freely available resources related to financial management, regulations, board governance and fundraising.

National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS)
U.S. Nonprofit Sector - links to stats on NCCS site http://nccs.urban.org/statistics/

Foundation Stats
The Foundation Center provides this free database where you can find data on grants given per year, including dollar value of those grants, by subject areas. This database also allows you to view data by population groups and recepient location. Additional statistics include aggregate grant fiscal data and top grant givers.

The Nonprofit Almanac 2012
Provides data from 2000 to 2010 on financial and employment trends in the nonprofit sector and attempts to evaluate the role of nonprofits in the U.S. economy.

Blackbaud - Nonprofit Industry Research
Blackbaud is a publically traded company which provides software, services and training to nonprofits.

State of the Nonprofit Industry - Annual Report - Free registration on web site is required to view most current report. Previous years are available without registration.
The Blackbaud Index - A monthly index on charitable giving. Information can be viewed by nonprofit organization size and by industry sector.

Library Databases for Nonprofit Statistics

Statista
Simple to use database with statistical charts, graphs and tables, studies and reports
ProQuest - Statistical Insight - An index to international, national, state and local statistics produced by governments, business and research organizations
ReferenceUSA - Search for nonprofit organizations by SIC code (SIC 839998 = Non-profit Organizations).

Statistics on State and Local Governments

County and City Data Book
1949 - 2007 in print and selected issues online. Census data on age, agriculture, births, business establishments, climate, construction, crime, deaths, earnings, education, elections, employment, finance, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force, manufactures, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, social services, and water use
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Finance data for cities and townships. Many other indicators go down to county, city or school district.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides general demographic data of federal government, state and local, and international level. Search abstract allows uses to search the abstracts of statistical publications from business and federal and state govrenment. This search engine provides outcomes based on keywords that users input. UM users only.
more...less...
Publisher:
ProQuest

Main Users:
Students and faculties of various social science departments.

Contents
**More specific information please see LexisNexis Satistical Insight Guide book :
http://www.lnstatistical.com/help/statistical/LN%20guidebook.pdf

* Source : Three optional abstracts modules titled American Statistics Index (ASI), Statisitical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS) are available.

1) The American Statistics Index (ASI) abstracts and indexes statistical documents produced by the federal governments. (Coverage from 1973 onward)
2) The Statistical reference Index ( SRI) abstracts and indexes statistical documents from state, local, university and private sources including professional and trade associations,
independent research organizations, and consumer and trade magazines. (Coverage from
1980 onward)
3) The Index to International Statistics (IIS) abstracts and indexes statistical documents from
approximately 100 international intergovernmental organizations, including the United Nations, the European Union, and development banks. (Coverage from 1983 onward)

* Data Breakdowns by
Age/ Commodity/ disease or cause of death/ educational attainment/ government agency/ income/ individual company or institution/ industry/ martial status/ occupation/
race and ethnic group/ sex/ urban rural and metro nonmetro

* Subject
Animals/ Business income and expenses/ Employment and unemployment/ Business firms and establishments, number/ Veterinary medicine/ Animal diseases and zoonoses/ Population characteristics/ Pet food and supplies/ Statistical compendia/ Firearms

Data Format:
PDF, GIF, and excel(XLS)
The abstracts and citations can be printed; Users can export search results to Endnote and Refworks.
State and Local Government Finances and Employment
From the Census Bureau's Statistical Abstract of the United States. Provides data on revenues, expenditures, debt, and employment of state and local governments.
globalEDGE
International business and trade information on all 50 U.S. states. In addition to demographic, economic, and historical information on each state, you will find data on corporations with headquarters in each state, and links to state-specific resources.
Federal, State and Local Government
It is a part of The Census Bureau’s statistical databases. It provides 2012 Census of Government, government employment and payroll, Government Finance Statistics, federal spending on selected programs, annual/quarterly survey of tax revenue for state and local governments, list and structure of governments from 1992 and on. It also provides Criminal Justice Statistics, Elementary-Secondary Education Statistics, and Library Statistics.
Simply Map
SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data. Data can be downloaded for use with other software such as Excel and GIS.