Finding Books & Articles
U-M Library Search is a new search interface that consolidates multiple existing search interfaces from the library’s website in one place.
The starting point is the Everything search, which shows a small number of results from each of the other categories (Library Catalog Search, Library Articles Search, Library Databases Search, Library Journals Search, and Library Website Search). You can switch to see a specific category of results by clicking the category name below the search box either before you start your search or once results display.
Finding Articles: Recommended Databases
-
Library Articles SearchAccess to over a half-billion articles from more than 125,000 journals, newspapers and magazines.
-
ProQuest Research LibraryIndexes over 5,000 journals and magazines, academic and popular, with full text included for over 3,600.
-
ProQuest News & Current EventsFulltext newspapers from all over the world. This database searches major newspapers like the New York Times and the Detroit Free Press.
-
JSTORProvides full-text access to core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
-
Nexis UniProvides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines.
-
ABI/INFORM GlobalIndexes 3,000+ business-related periodicals (with full text for 2,000+), including Wall Street Journal.
-
ERIC [ProQuest]Database from the U.S. Dept. of Education providing extensive access to educational-related literature.
-
Project MUSEFull-text access to scholarly journals and e-books published by more than 120 scholarly societies and university presses. This is a great database for research in the humanities and social sciences.
-
PsycInfo (APA)This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology.
-
Web of ScienceSearches multiple databases related to the sciences and social sciences.
Last Updated: Nov 22, 2025 3:45 PM
Subjects: Humanities