Information for and About Nonprofit Organizations

"Michigan Nonprofit Association (MNA) is the collective voice of Michigan's nonprofit organizations. MNA serves as a statewide network for the sector, a resource center on effective management practices, and as an advocate for the nonprofit community."

With offices in both Ann Arbor and Detroit, NEW offers nonprofits in southeast Michigan resources, technology, and services to meet the challenges of doing more with less. We also work with partners to deliver NEW'S programs outside of southeast Michigan.

This center is a collaboration between Ford School of Public Policy, Ross School of Business and the University of Michigan School of Social Work and now works with the University of Michigan's Center for Social Impact (CSI).

Serving as a membership-based nonprofit organization, the CMF aims to build and support philanthropic activity in Michigan. Currently boasting over 350 organizational memberships, CMF provides member foundations with educational programs, networking opportunities, discounts on products, access to a lending library and a research librarian, philanthropic resources, current news and information, and advocacy representation in Washington, DC and Lansing, MI.

Under the heading Geographic Focus search for nonprofits by location, review state summary reports, largest public charities by state, and find private foundations in Michigan by county.

Two hundred twenty-one Michigan nonprofits were surveyed in 2010 about salaries, compensation and benefits provided. This report is intended to help nonprofits determine appropriate compensation, comparable with other nonprofit organizations in the state of Michigan.

An excellent hands-on guide for Michigan nonprofits which includes sections on marketing, evaluation, financial management, fundraising, governance, HR, IT, planning, public policy, strategic alliances, transparency, and volunteer engagement. Each chapter includes references and links to useful web sites for nonprofits.

The Attorney General of Michigan's page on charity requirements and procedures. This page includes links to a searchable database of charities in Michigan, fundraising and financial information for nonprofits, procedures, requirements and other resources for charities and nonprofits in the state of Michigan.

Michigan Department of Treasury provides information for nonprofits on this page.

This page provides downloadable state forms for nonprofits including nonprofit corporation filing instructions, articles of incorporation for nonprofits.

Brief instructions on how to file for nonprofit status in the state of Michigan.

This Michigan State University compilation of Michigan grantmakers provides links to grant listings, as well as descriptions of various giving programs throughout the state. Relevant websites of community and corporate givers also are provided, in addition to linked information of top funding organizations in the state of Michigan.