Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Percussion Resources

This is a guide to locating information and materials related to percussion in the Music Library.

Reference & General Works

Bajzek, Dieter.
Percussion: an annotated bibliography with special emphasis on contemporary notation and performance.
Z 6814 .P38 B16 1988

Beck, John H., ed.
Encyclopedia of percussion.
Reference: ML 102 .P4 E5 2007

Carroll, Raynor.
Symphonic repertoire guide for timpani and percussion.
Reference: ML 128 .P23 C37 2005

Girsberger, Russ.
A practical guide to percussion terminology.
Reference: ML 102 .P4 G571 1998

Larrick, Geary.
An annotated bibliography of percussion music publications.
ML 128 .P23 L3621 2005

Larrick, Geary.
Bibliographic analysis of percussion literature.
Reference: ML 128 .P23 L3631 2003

Larrick, Geary.
A percussionist's guide to music: bibliographic essays.
Z 6814 .P38 L37 2002

Siwe, Thomas, ed.
Percussion ensemble & solo literature.
Z 6814 .P38 P38 1993

Siwe, Thomas, ed.
Percussion solo literature.
Reference: ML 128 .P23 S63 1995

Holland, James and Janet K. Page. "Percussion." In The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.
Reference: ML 100 .N53 2001
Also available electronically:
"Percussion" in Grove Music Online

Percussion Instruction & Study

Beck, John. Concepts for timpani.
MT 660.3 .B34 2001

Cirone, Anthony J. On musical interpretation in percussion performance: a study of notation and musicianship.
MT 655 .C57 2008

Cirone, Anthony J., Neil Grover and Garwood Whaley. The art of percussion playing.
MT 655.2 .C58 2006

Cook, Gary. Teaching percussion.
MT 655 .C671 1997

Moio, Dom. Latin percussion in perspective.
MT 655.2 .M72 1997

Siwe, Thomas. Percussion: a course of study for the future band and orchestra director.
MT 655 .S62 2002

Solomon, Samuel Z. Advanced rhythm studies: for the percussionist.
MT 655.3 .S68 2009

Uribe, Ed. The essence of Afro-Cuban percussion and drum set.
MT 655 .U75 1996

Percussion History & Instrumentalists

Aldridge, John. Guide to vintage drums.
ML 1035 .A43 1994

Barnhart, Stephen L. Percussionists: a biographical dictionary.
Reference: ML 399 .B381 2000

Blades, James. Percussion instruments and their history.
ML 1030 .B63 1984

Dean, Matt. The drum: a history.
ML 1035 .D43 2012

Larrick, Geary. Bibliography, history, pedagogy, and philosophy in music and percussion.
ML 1030 .L371 1999

Larrick, Geary. Biographical essays on twentieth-century percussionists.
ML 399 .L351 1992

Montagu, Jeremy. Timpani and percussion.
ML 1035 .M661 2002