Deirdre's Profile
Baroque Architecture
(Lib guide created by Amy Smola, February 2013)
Finding Articles - Databases
Article databases and indexes are the best places to find the articles you need. Article databases and indexes are collections of articles that you can search by topic, subject, author, etc. Once you have completed your search, look for the phrase "Availability at U-M" or the "MGet It" button in order to access the article.
- Academic One FileA premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Includes extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- Art & Architecture SourceCovers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
- Library Articles SearchLibrary Articles Search provides full-text access to electronic journal articles in a variety of subjects including history of art.
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsCitation database focused on periodicals in architecture and related fields, emphasizing architectural design and history, construction, public arts, urban planning and design, etc.
- Bibliography of the History of ArtCombined access to two databases providing indexing of articles and books on the history of art.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural, and intellectual history.
- Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links) This link opens in a new windowSearches for scholarly documents on the web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.
- Hathi Trust Digital LibraryOver 10 million digitized volumes, with over one-third public domain and downloadable as pdfs to the U-M community.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907 - 1984 (H. W. Wilson)Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA)The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
- JSTORProvides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Periodicals Index OnlineDatabase of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
- Project MuseFull-text access to over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities. A leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content supporting a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide.
- Proquest Research LibraryIndexes over 5,000 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971.
- RIBA - Royal Institute of British ArchitectsCitations to over 2000 periodicals and 135,000 books held by the Royal Institute of British Architects Library. In addition to architecture, subject areas include civil engineering, landscape architecture, interior design, and town planning.
- OmniFile Full Text SelectOmniFile Full Text, Select Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text for all full text articles from 2,700+ different journals and periodicals included in 11 databases formerly published by H. W. Wilson Company.
- PASCAL and FRANCIS This link opens in a new windowIndexes 4,200 European-language journals in science, technology, medicine, humanities & social sciences, 1972-2015.
Other Electronic Resources
- Art Theorists of the Italian RenaissanceDatabase is a collection of treatises on Italian Renaissance art and architecture based on Vasari's Lives of the Artists, covering the period 1470 to 1775.
- Baroque ArchitectureColumbia University's information about Baroque architecture
- Cambridge Histories OnlineThe Cambridge Histories online collection contains up-to-date and authoritative scholarly content on a variety of subjects. The Religion Collection includes 4 titles covering the Bible, Judaism, Christianity, and Islam from Antiquity to the present.
- Cathedrals of Baroque ArchitectureCathedrals of Baroque Architecture
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the RenaissanceIter is a database comprised of journal articles and bibliographies on medieval and renaissance culture.
- Oxford Art OnlineOnline version of the comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes 41,000 articles and 10,000 color images.
- Renaissance ArchitectureVirtual Website about Renaissance architecture from Columbia University.
- Smithsonian Institution Research Information SystemProvides finding aids, research databases, bibliographies, etc.
Fine Arts Library
-
260 Tappan Hall
855 S. University Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1357
855 S. University Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1357
-
734 764 5405 (p)
-
Library Assistance
- ArchitectureProvides access to resources related to the study of architecture, construction, and building systems.
- History of Art Research GuideThis guide provides links to online and print resources in the history of art. These include information on artistic movements, individual artists, museum and auction information, access to images, and much more.
- U-M Library Catalog SearchCatalog Search results will include everything in our physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.
Last Updated: Nov 2, 2024 1:22 AM