Comparative and Historical Sociology

Try Library Online Journals Search to see if we have it in electronic format.

Check the library catalog to see if we have it online, in print, or microform

Check WorldCat to see if another library has it

Check the CRL catalog to see if it's on microfilm (we have free and unlimited loans from CRL)

You can also check UlrichsWeb to get more information about the publication: where it's indexed, which databases provide access, etc.

Online News Sources: this is a link to all electronic historical newspaper sources available at the University of Michigan.

America's Historical Newspapers includes over 1,000 historical newspapers from 1690-1922.

American Periodicals Series includes a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers provides full text searching and page images from 13 major US and international newspapers, from the late 1800s through the beginning of the 21st century. Includes the New York Times, Washington Post, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, and several others.

Nexis Uni - full text of thousands of newspapers, national, local, and foreign (including tv and radio transcripts, student newspapers, and some foreign language newspapers). Most coverage begins in the 1980s or 1990s.

Access World News - similar to Nexis Uni, with a different interface and many different titles. Allows browsing all articles in a newspaper by date.

AP Images is a collection of over half a million images from the Associated Press newswire dating back to 1844.

A full text database of over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press, covering ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, genetics, and much more. 1994 - (Varies by publication)

Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information. Covers over 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines with in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. International in scope. 90% of the sources are not indexed elsewhere.

Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Provides alternative viewpoints on subjects of national and international interest.

A full text database of 200 publications of U.S. ethnic, minority and native presses. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Includes more than 100,000 articles in Spanish and over 400,000 in English. 1985-