Library Contact
Library Digital Films (Streaming) Overview
The University Library provides an abundance of streaming film to the U-M community for use in instruction, research, and personal interest. This guide provides information about the rich variety of databases that are available for use, and how to request streaming for specific documentaries or feature films.
Instructors may place streaming film requests. When available, film links can be inserted in Canvas course sites. Please use this form to submit streaming film requests.
Instructors can also assign specific films in our physical collections by placing titles on reserve for students to watch in the Askwith Media Library. Please contact the Askwith Media Library staff to make reserve requests at askwithmedia@umich.edu or (734) 764-5360.
Please note that public performances of films require the appropriate permissions. For more details, see the Show a Movie on Campus webpage.
Streaming Video Databases
The U-M Library offers streaming video with these online databases. We recommend starting with the following:
Frequently Requested Streaming Video Topics, Series, Programs, etc.
Frontline series (from PBS) can be found in:
- FrontlinePublic Broadcasting System's news and current affairs series which investigates and reports on timely topics. Can also connect to the programs on selected local PBS channel web sites (e.g. https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/frontline/).
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new windowOffers over 9,000 documentary and feature films from an array of producers and distributors, accessible by unlimited users.
- PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new windowCollection of documentaries distributed by PBS. Topics include history, science, health, technology, performing arts, psychology, anthropology, politics and literature.
Opera, music, ballets, concerts, etc. (performing arts) can be found in:
- Great PerformancesPublic Broadcasting System's (PBS) performing arts television series.
- Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new windowA streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries.
Performances of Shakespeare plays can be viewed in:
- BBC Shakespeare Plays This link opens in a new windowStreaming video of all the plays of Shakespeare. Originally broadcast on BBC2 between 1978 and 1985.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new windowOffers over 9,000 documentary and feature films from an array of producers and distributors, accessible by unlimited users.
Additional Resources for Streaming Video
The Digital Video Collections Guide is a curated bibliography created by Scott Spicer (University of Minnesota Library) that lists digital video collections on the web.