Catalog Search results will include everything in our physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.
Includes searchable full text of 7 newspapers: The Christian Recorder (1861–1902); The Colored American (1837–1841); Frederick Douglass’ Paper (1851–1855; 1859–1863); Freedom’s Journal (1827–1829); The National Era (1847–1860); The North Star (1847–1851); Provincial Freeman (1854–1857) Weekly Advocate (1837–1837)
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of the New York Times (1851-2003), Wall Street Journal (1889-1989), Washington Post (1877-1990), Christian Science Monitor (1908-1993), and Los Angeles Times (1881-1985).
Provides full text searchable access to historical newspapers from around the world. Includes gradually expanding digitized backfiles of 19th and 20th century newspapers from North America (currently 1,500+ titles), Latin America & the Caribbean (13), Sub-Saharan Africa (43), South Asia (7), and Eastern Europe (2). More titles are being added continuously. Eventually will also cover the Middle East, Southeast Asia, and Central Europe.
Full-text of more than 60,000 books, published from 1450-1850, with a focus on economics in the broadest sense. Topics covered include agriculture, commerce, finance, manufacturing, politics, slavery, social conditions, trade, and transportation.
Includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
Online access to over 500,000 photos with detailed captions from the AP news wire. Includes all photos from US and abroad added in the previous 365 days (800 per day) plus many selected historical photos from 1844 to the present.
As an image library for the Arts & Sciences, ARTstor Digital Library promotes and shares collections from hundreds of museums, artists, artists' estates, photographers, scholars, special collections, and photo archives.