Why look up dissertations?
We know you're just starting grad school... but it's a great idea to take a look at dissertations by folks who have already gone through the process. Why?
- To get a sense of how narrow or broad a dissertation topic needs to be.
- To make sure your dream topic hasn't already been done.
- To scope out potential committee members. Looking at related dissertations is a great way to find potential outside readers.
- To get familiar with the dissertation structure and research processes, since you will be writing one.
- To check out all those sappy acknowledgement pages.
Need help with your dissertation lit review?
Never fear: we have just the guide for you!
Finding U-M dissertations
- Library Catalog Search - for the most COMPLETE listing of U-M dissertationsLibrary Catalog Search offers the most complete listing of U-M dissertations. Search by author or title, or by combining your search term with the term "DISS"! Most dissertations are held in print and/or microfilm at the Buhr Shelving Facility on campus; you can request delivery if you'd like to take a peek!
If a dissertation is available in electronic format, this information will be provided in the catalog record.
The link above searches for all items whose call number starts with DISS, sorted from newest to oldest. - Dissertations & Theses @ University of MichiganDescribes most dissertations filed at University of Michigan, with full text for most since 1990.
- Deep BlueThis is UM's online repository for the work of our fabulous grad students and faculty -- and a few high-achieving undergrads! It's a permanent, safe, and accessible full-text searchable database. When you deposit your dissertation, you can determine the access rights.
Deep Blue contains the full text of dissertations from as far back as the 1930s, but the bulk are from 2006 and after.
Dissertation Help
- Microsoft Word '10 for DissertationsThis online guide proves step-by-step instructions on formatting a dissertation using Microsoft Word 2010. The guide features screenshots and video demonstrations on how to apply styles, add page numbers, and more!
- ScholarSpaceWant one-on-one assistance? Make an appointment with one of the dissertation experts at ScholarSpace. Learn how to properly format your dissertation and utilize some of Word's helpful formatting tools.
- TTC Dissertation WorkshopsLink to the Teaching and Technology Collaborative registration system, where you can search and register for dissertation-related workshops.
Dissertations from all over
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new windowDescriptions, sometimes with full text, of doctoral dissertations & master theses from US, UK, Canada, Ireland, etc.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations from all around the world. Titles are generally given in English, but many of the dissertations are written in other languages.
This catalog makes individual collections of NDLTD member institutions and consortia appear as one seamless digital library of ETDs.
This site also links to repositories of freely-available digitized dissertations from around the world. - Interlibrary LoanIf there's a dissertation you'd like to read that isn't available online, you may request it via Interlibrary Loan. We'll try to find another library that can lend it to you.