Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Center for Bioethics and Social Sciences in Medicine

Provides access to resources and tools to assist with research in bioethics, decision making, and other related topics.

Core Databases Across Disciplines

This list is a small selection of core databases in a variety of fields that reflect the interdisciplinary nature of bioethics and social sciences in medicine. For more extensive lists of databases, consult the Library Research Guides, and/or contact your librarian for assistance: Judy Smith, judsmith@umich.edu

Business
Communication
Engineering
Health Sciences
Philosophy, Psychology, Public Affairs, Sociology
Citation searching
Faculty Expertise
General Internet Searching

 


 

Business

 

Abi/Inform Complete

 

Featuring around 5000 journals, ABI/INFORM Complete™ is the most comprehensive business database on the market today. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers nearly 3,900 full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.

EconLit
Index and abstract of journals and books, dissertations, and working papers for the field of economics.


 

Communication

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides coverage of more than 500 journals in the communication and mass media fields, including full-text for more than 230 journals. Coverage for significant titles in the field goes back to their very first issue (as far back as 1915).


Communication Abstracts 
Comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Containing over 244,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. *NEW* Now searchable together with CMMC, above.


Engineering

Engineering Index (Compendex) 
Engineering Index (Compendex) provides international coverage of engineering and applied science literature in over 5000 journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports.

INSPEC 
Covers the world-wide literature (mainly journal articles and conference proceedings papers) in astronomy, physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology. Includes indexing of material appearing in IEEE Xplore and SPIE Digital Library.


 

Health Sciences

CINAHL
Primary journal index for nursing and allied health professions.

EBM Reviews/Cochrane Library
All EBM Reviews includes the full text of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials

ACP Journal Club

ETHXWeb
Journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audiovisuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics.

GenETHX
Citations, some with abstracts or tables of contents, to literature on the ethical, legal, and social implications of genetic and genomic research and its applications from many disciplines and publication types including journals, newspapers, books, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and audiovisuals.

Islamic Medical and Scientific Ethics
Citations, some with abstracts or tables of contents, to literature on on Islamic medical and scientific ethics. Database covers attitudes and practices on ethical issues within the Muslim world, from many disciplines and publication types including journals, newspapers, books, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and audiovisuals.

Medline (OVID)
The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.

PubMed (With MGet It Links)
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 15 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases.


 

Philosophy, Psychology, Public Affairs, Sociology

 

PAIS
Contains references to nearly 2 million journal articles and other resources on public affairs and public policy worldwide.

Philosopher's Index
informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.

PsycInfo
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology.

Social Science Abstracts
Covers 625 of the most important English-language journals across all the social sciences, including full text of articles from over 200 of them as far back as 1995.

Sociological Abstracts
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.


 

Citation Searching

 

Scopus
International multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences.   Searchable by cited-reference (forward citation searching).  Covers journals, patents, and websites (16,500+ titles) from 4,000+ publishers.

Web of Science Core Collection
Combines three citation indexes--Arts & Humanities, Science Expanded, and Social Sciences--which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address. Covers 8,400+ journals.


 

Faculty Expertise

 

Michigan Experts
Michigan Experts is a searchable database of research expertise across disciplines at the University of Michigan. It has been developed to foster intramural and extramural collaborations, and interdisciplinary research. It contains publication citations (pulled from Scopus and Inspec), grants, and patents data. Faculty from the following schools, colleges and institutes are included: School of Dentistry, College of Engineering, Life Sciences Institute, Medical School School of Nursing, College of Pharmacy, and the School of Public Health.

COS Pivot
A directory of researcher profiles and research funding opportunities combining COS Funding Opportunities and COS Scholar Universe.


 

General Internet Searching

 

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources. Find articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.