Research Guides: English Language & Literature: 18th Century

18th Century Resources

Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of 18th century books, pamphlets, broadsides, etc. published in the UK.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 & Series I: Supplement This link opens in a new window
Page images and searchable full-text of Early American Imprints, Series I Evans & Series I Supplement.
American Broadsides and Ephemera 1749-1900 This link opens in a new window
Over 30,000 broadsides and ephemeral publications.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Over 60,000 images of original manuscripts related to Empire Studies sourced from libraries and archives around the world.
English Short Title Catalogue (British Library) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, international union catalog listing early books, serials, newspapers and selected ephemera printed before 1801.
Literary Manuscripts Leeds This link opens in a new window
190 manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds.
Samuel Johnson's Dictionary of the English Language This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of both the 1755 and the 1773 editions of A Dictionary of the English Language by Samuel Johnson.

Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship, Society and the Stage
British plays licensed between 1737 and 1824 as well as documents that provide their social context.
18th Century Connect
William Blake Archive
The Diary of Samuel Pepys
Eighteenth-Century Book Tracker
This site indexes freely-available digital facsimiles of eighteenth-century texts and cross-references them to standard bibliographical reference sources.

Last Updated: Jan 9, 2025 1:39 PM

Subjects: Humanities