Research Guides: English Language & Literature: Manuscript and Archive Materials

Related Guide

Locating Archives and Manuscripts
Provides an overview of strategies for locating primary sources, including archival and manuscript material.

Digital Archives

American Indian Histories and Culture This link opens in a new window
Full text database of manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books.
American West This link opens in a new window
A primary source database that includes manuscripts, maps, broadsides, and a variety of ephemeral works.
American Jewess This link opens in a new window
A digital reproduction of the 8 volumes of "The American Jewess."
Black Drama: Second Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains 1,460 full text English plays ca. 1850-present by more than 250 playwrights from North America, Africa, and the Caribbean.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora This link opens in a new window
Approximately 11,700 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present.
British Literary Manuscripts, Medieval to 1900 This link opens in a new window
Includes facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Includes facsimile page images and full text for a broad range of British periodicals published between the 17th and the 20th century.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Over 60,000 images of original manuscripts related to Empire Studies sourced from libraries and archives around the world.
English Historical Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Online collection of over 5,000 historical documents.

Last Updated: Jan 9, 2025 1:39 PM

Subjects: Humanities

Tags: comp, composition, controversies, drama, fiction