Research Guides: Francophone Canada: Databases / Bases de Données

History/Histoire

World Digital Library/Bibliotheque numerique du monde
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. This is a work in progress. You can search for keywords like "Canada," "Quebec," "New France," and other terms of interest in English or French.
National Library and Archives Quebec/Bibliothèque et Archives nationales Quebec (BAnQ)
BAnQ collects, preserves and disseminates Québec’s archives and documentary heritage. Here you will find access to some online materials, such as a rich collection of digitized maps and archival materials.
Library and Archives Canada/Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
Here you will find Canada's national collection of books, historical documents, government records, photos, films, maps, music...and more.

Library Databases/Bases de données de la bibliotheque

There are no databases pertaining only to Québécois resources. For this reason, the databases listed below are the most important ones for francophone studies.

Il n'existe pas de bases de données concernant uniquement des sujets québécois. Pour cette raison, les bases de données suivantes sont les plus importantes pour étudier les sujets francophones.

MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Essay and General Literature Index
Indexes articles in books (collections of essays) focusing on the humanities and social sciences, published in the U.S., Canada and Great Britain. Covers 300 books and 20 annual series each year.
PASCAL and FRANCIS
Indexes 4,200 European-language journals in science, technology, medicine, humanities & social sciences, 1972-2015.
Early Canadiana Online
Early Canadiana Online (ECO) is a full text online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century. The collection is particularly strong in literature, women's history, native studies, travel and exploration, and the history of French Canada.