Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Mirlyn Classic

Guide to using Mirlyn Classic, a previous version of the University of Michigan Library Catalog.

Logging in to Mirlyn Classic

Log in to access Mirlyn Classic services, such as Get This, and your borrowing account. Log in by clicking on Login in the dark blue banner at the top of any Mirlyn Classic screen.

Mirlyn navigation bar

My Account

Once logged in, click on the My Account link in order to access a list of the items checked out on your card, any holds that you have requested on items currently checked out by others or on order for the Library, outstanding fines, information about proxy cards in your name, and the option to renew all of the books currently checked out to you.

My Account screen options

My Shelf

To save a permanent record of titles, login and add them to My Shelf. Items can be added to the shelf one at a time by clicking on the item of interest to get the Full Record and then clicking the Add to My Shelf button toward the top of the screen, or to add several titles at once, at the results screen, check the box to the left of titles you want to save and click on the Add to My Shelf. Items on My Shelf can be organized into folders, by clicking on the Folder Management link. The default folder is Basket. You can move titles from your Basket to any of your named folders or you can save the titles in your Basket as a new folder by naming it. A maximum of 500 items can be saved to My Shelf.

My Shelf view

Note: Click on the Hldg or Avail link to find call number and availability.

My Saved Searches

You can also permanently save searches as in the example below. Save searches that you will want to run again for updates or to finish an interrupted search session. To access your saved searches, you will need to login and then click on the My Saved Searches link in the dark blue banner at the top of the screen.

My Saved Searches view

To save your searches, login, and then click on Previous Searches in the dark blue banner at the top of the screen. Check off the searches to save, and then click on Add to My Saved Searches.

Previous Searches view

Options for the Previous Searches Screen:

  1. Click the View button to re-run the search.

  2. Click the Delete button to remove the search from this list.

  3. Click Combine Searches to merge two or more searches for a new result.

  4. Click Add to My Saved Searches to permanently save these searches.

  5. Check only one to view the results of the search; check as many as you want for the other options.