Library Contact
Leena Lalwani
Contact:
2392 Duderstadt Center
2281 Bonisteel Blvd
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2094
734-936-2332
2281 Bonisteel Blvd
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2094
734-936-2332
Patent Searching Tutorial
Online Patent Tutorials & Guides
Searching for Patents
If you intend to make, use, or sell an invention of yours, you should find out whether someone else has created something like it already. You have a number of options when it comes to searching for patents. Below are some patent searching sites.
-
Patent Public SearchPatent database from the United States Patent and Trademark Office
-
European Patent Office (EPO)Search for European, US, PCT, Japanese and other worldwide patents.
-
InnovationQ PlusAn intellectual property analytics tool used for researching patents, patent applications, and prior art.
-
Derwent Innovations IndexDerwent Innovations Index facilitates rapid, precise patent searching and merges the value-added patent information from Derwent World Patents Index with the patent citation information from Derwent Patent Citation Index.
-
Google PatentsCovers patents and applications from USPTO, EPO, WIPO, DPMA, CIPO and SIPO.
-
Lens.OrgSearch, analyze and manage patent data and only database with genetic data
-
CIPO - Canadian Patents DatabaseA Canadian Patent database with data from 1989 to the present, and includes the patent number, classification, and title of patents.
-
Japan Patent OfficeA searchable database of Japanese patent abstracts, which includes the patent number, title, inventor, company, and abstract of the patent.
-
Free Patents OnlineCovers patents and applications from USPTO, EPO, WIPO and JPL abstracts
Other USPTO Resources
The US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO) has many resources available online. Below are some of the resources available. For a complete listing of USPTO web resources and their limitations, please see the USPTO website.
-
Independent Inventor's ResourcesLinks to resources useful to independent inventors.
-
Official Gazettes for PatentsInformation found in Official Gazette with links to last 52 gazettes.
-
Patent Agents and AttorneysThis is maintained by USPTO.
Last Updated: Oct 9, 2025 11:16 AM
Subjects: Engineering, Government, Politics & Law