Bioinformatics

You can check here to see if we have electronic access or printed copies in the library.

If you'd like to go directly to the electronic version of a journal, use this link. Titles are arranged alphabetically.

Google's search engine for scholarly research including but not limited to content from PubMed, institutional repositories, and professional societies. Results are displayed in a ranked order with the most relevant appearing first. Google Scholar also displays cited reference counts.

Index to the journal literature in 150 scientific disciplines including biomedicine, biotechnology, and basic sciences. Includes citations, abstracts, and cited references, from 1900-present.

SciFinder is a discovery tool provided by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) for chemical structure & reaction and forward cited-reference searches. Searches are performed across select Chemical Abstracts databases and Medline which covers many disciplines such as biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science.

Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Contains content from journals, meetings, patents, and books, and is available 1926-present.

Includes access to 17 indexing and abstracting databases in the life sciences.

Conference Papers provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences. Information is derived from final programs, abstracts booklets and published proceedings, as well as from questionnaire responses. Records include complete ordering information to obtain preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the conference, together with title and author information needed to track the specific papers.

Indexes the table-of-contents pages of scholarly journals, books and conference proceedings in the fields of medicine, science, engineering, the arts, social sciences, and humanities.

User guide and FAQ for using PubMed.

Online training resources for using PubMed, including quick tours, tutorials, and webcasts.

Introductory videos (less than 5 minutes) providing instruction on searching and PubMed features

U-M Library Research Guide with short videos (5-10 minutes) covering several search features and managing results

U-M Library Research Guide with installation and search help and tutorials

Overview of basic search, including search fields.

U-M Library Research Guide with instructions for connecting to and using the database and links to more tutorials

To request access to the xml files, please email librarytdm@umich.edu