Anthropology

Encyclopaedia Britannica's latest article database (including hundreds of articles not found in the print edition), Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, and the Britannica Book of the Year (1994- ), with thousands of web links selected by editors.

The most complete and authoritative dictionary of the English language.

Over 125 dictionaries and thesauri, language reference, quotation, and subject-specific reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes subject reference works in the humanities, social sciences,

Combined access to Roget's International Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases (1922 ed.) and Roget's II: The New Thesaurus (3rd ed., 1995). Provides brief definitions of words, with lists of other words with synonyms and antonyms.

General introduction to anthropology, in encyclopedia format. From Sage Reference Online; for University of Michigan affiliates only

Thomas Barfield, ed.

26-volume comprehensive encyclopedia for the social sciences.
Grad Reference, Undergraduate H 41 .I581 2001.
Electronic for University of Michigan affiliates only

Second edition of ELL, the most comprehensive encyclopedia of linguistics.
Grad Reference P 29 .E481 2006. Electronic for University of Michigan affiliates only

Comprehensive encyclopedia of terms relating to the evolutionary history of modern humans.

Principles, methods and approaches to the study of
primate evolution and human origins.

Collection of eight dictionaries of mythology and folklore world-wide from Oxford University Press. Electronic for University of Michigan affiliates only

Classic reference work by Stith Thompson cross-indexing themes and motifs in myths and folk literature. Includes an extensive bibliography.

Database of about 80,000 plants used by native americans as food, drugs, dyes, fibers and more. Entries linked to USDA Plants Database

By Alan Barnard and Jonathan Spencer, Routlege, 1998. Brief articles on social and cultural anthropology.
Grad GN 307 .E527 2002. Electronic for University of Michigan affiliates only

Grad Ref GN 281 .E531 2000

Second edition of this comprehensive guide to reference and research sources for cultural anthropology. Grad Ref Z 5111 .J33 2007

A bibliography of anthropology resources. By John M. Weeks.
Grad Z 5111 .W441 1998

By Gerald Gaillard, 2004. E-book. For U-M community only; requires authentication.

Free directory of anthropologists and institutions with anthropology departments.

Comprehensive guide to electronic biographical sources in U-M Library.

A consolidated index to more than 12 million biographical articles appearing in English-language Who's Who-type publications, major biographical dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, handbooks, directories and indexes.

A cumulative index to biographical material in English-language periodicals (over 2700) and books (over 1800 added each year).