Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

French History

Find collections and other resources for the study of French History

Print Index to Periodicals

Bibliographie annuelle de l'histoire de France
First published in 1953, the BAHF provides the most comprehensive coverage of the field.
Graduate Library call no. Z2176 .B58

Find Articles Online

 

FRANCIS A predominantly French language bibliographic database (1984 - ) which provides indexing and abstracts for a wide range of humanities and social science disciplines. Compiles and continues the main CNRS bulletins signalétiques, which ceased in print after 1994.
Remote access is limited to current UM faculty, staff and students.
Historical Abstracts Indexing, often with abstracts, for 2,000+ journals and other materials relating to world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural, and intellectual history. Primarily English language, but includes some materials in French.
Remote access is restricted to current UM faculty, staff and students.
IBZ (International Bibliography of Periodical Literature) IBZ is a multilingual bibliography that indexes over 8,700 periodicals primarily in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from 1983-present.
Periodicals Index Online An electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1990/1991. The scope is international, including many journals in French.
Remote access is restricted to current UM faculty, staff and students.
PERSEE Established by the French Ministry of State Education, Higher Education and Research, Persée is a portal for back runs of full-text French scholarly journals in the humanities.

Looking for a different library database?

Click the link below to search for a specific library database.

Library Journals of Interest

Contemporary French and Francophone Studies
Critical approaches to French Studies, including cultural studies, francophone studies, autobiography, media studies, and much more. Containing interviews, articles, fiction, and poetry, each issue features contributors from across disciplines, approximately 5 to 10% of each issue is in French with remaining content in either English or in bilingual form.

French Cultural Studies
Particular emphasis is placed on French cinema, television, the press, the visual arts, popular culture and cultural and intellectual debate, with some content covering French literature.

French Politics, Culture & Society
FPCS explores modern and contemporary France from the perspectives of the social sciences, history, and cultural analysis. It also examines the relationship of France to the larger world, especially Europe, the United States, and the former French Empire, with articles in English and French.

French Historical Studies
FHS is a quarterly journal on the history of France and Francophone areas, and is sponsored by the Society for French Historical Studies, with articles in French and English.

French History
This journal covers the entire chronological range of French history from the early Middle Ages to the twentieth century, and includes articles covering a wide range of inquiry across the arts and social sciences, as well as across historical periods. In addition, there is a book reviews section.

French History and civilization: Papers from the George Rudé seminar
The George Rudé Society was formed in 2004 to promote the study of French history and civilization in Australia and New Zealand. It organises the George Rudé Seminar, an international conference on French History and Civilization which has been held every second year since 1976 in an Australian or New Zealand university. It produces French History and Civilisation. Papers from the George Rudé Seminar.

French Studies 
French Studies is published on behalf of the Society for French Studies. The journal publishes articles and reviews spanning all areas of the subject, including language and linguistics (historical and contemporary), all periods and aspects of literature in France and the French-speaking world, thought and the history of ideas, cultural studies, film, and critical theory.

Modern Language Quarterly
MLQ publishes scholarly essays and book reviews that pertain to all topics in literary history, including both the recent and distant past.

Proceedings of the Western Society for French History

WSFH provides selected, peer-reviewed papers from the Society's annual meeting. Founded in 1974, the Western Society for French History seeks to promote the study of French and Francophone history.