Women's and Gender Studies

A collaborative international project that examines the history of feminist activism, women's movements and academic women's studies in China, India, Poland, and the United States. Collection includes ten videotaped oral histories of women's movement activists and women's studies scholars in each country.

Items focus on historical social protest literature and present political views from both the extreme left and the extreme right.

Collection of 10,182 journal issues and 2457 books published from approximately 1850-1877. Browsable list of subject terms include: women's rights, women in literature and arts, and women's suffrage.

A Collection of survey responses completed by the first cadre of women students to attend U-M. The pages of these questionnaires record the voices of over 3,000 women who were among the first in the nation to experience co-ed higher education.

A digital collection maintained by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture of the New York Public Library. The database is browsable by title, author, fiction, poetry, biography and autobiography, and essay.

Provides a gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections. Users can search a category for "Women's History". Now archived.

Provides two approaches for the study of specific time periods in American women's history. Each section includes a timeline that links specific events, with highly relevant online sources, followed by a guide to research sources.

Online access to rare, out-of-print texts from a wide range of women authors. The database is searchable by dates, country, ethnicity or author.

Online versions of books by Toni Carabillo, Judith Meuli and June Bundy Csida. Feminist Chronicles 1953 - 1993 are actually excerpted from a larger work in progress: the Feminist Chronicles of the 20th Century (focus on NOW)

"The ARTFL French Women Writers Project is a searchable database containing works by French women authors from the 16th to the 19th century."

"A collection of 51 historic photographs by Linda Griffith celebrating the 25th anniversary of the 1977 National Women's Conference in Houston, Texas."

HEARTH is a searchable, digitized archive of books and journals related to the field of home economics. Materials range in date from 1829 to 1979, organized and displayed by Mann Library, Cornell University.

A guide to researching women's history through the United States National Archives. Subjects include African-American women, families and children, suffrage, temperance, women in the military, and other subject areas related to women's history.

Offers a number of special exhibits on women's history, Women's Suffrage, Women's History, Women in World War II, Women in the Progressive Era, etc.

Produced by the Special Collections Library at Duke University, the online archive collections include primary source materials from the Women's Liberation Movement, African-American Women, and Civil War Women.

University of Indiana Library Electronic Text Resource Service project offers searchable transcriptions of 19th century works by British women writers. Includes poems, essays, drama, political pamphlets and religious tracts written by British women.

Presents a selection of 448 of the approximately 2,650 photographs in the Records of the National Woman's Party. Collection is housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress.

This collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images including 7,500 pages of manuscripts, 3,500 books and pamphlets and 1,200 photographs in Harvard's University Library. Focus on women's historical role in the U.S. economy.

This Brown University project features databases of texts by women writers from 1400-1850 and can be searched by title, author, date, publisher, and keyword.

A collection of images of leaders, events, and group photos (1915-1999) of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom (WILPF). Created by archivist Anne Yoder, Swarthmore College Peace Collection.