Research Guides: American Culture New Student Orientation 2025: Li-Anne Wright -- Queen Asian American lineages/methods/theories in the 20th and 21st centuries

BOOKS

Constellating Home by V. Jo Hsu
Call Number: HQ 73.3 .U6 H78 2022

ISBN: 9780814214886

Publication Date: 2022-08-24

Winner of the 2024 RSA Book Award Winner of the 2024 Winifred Bryan Horner Outstanding Book Award Winner of the 2023 NCA Diamond Anniversary Book Award Winner of the Innovations in Community Writing Book Award from the Conference on Community Writing Constellating Home: Trans and Queer Asian American Rhetorics explores how race, migration, gender, and disability entwine in conceptions of deserving citizens. V. Jo Hsu explores three archives of trans and queer Asian American (QTAPI) rhetorics, considering a range of texts including oral histories, photography, personal essays, and performance showcases. To demonstrate how QTAPI use personal narrative to critique and revise the conditions of their exclusion, Hsu forwards a critical approach to storytelling, homing, which deliberately engages sites of alienation and belonging. Through a practice of diasporic listening, Hsu tracks confluences among seemingly divergent journeys and locates trans and queer Asian American experiences within broader US and global politics. The stories at the heart of Constellating Home center the voices of trans and nonbinary people, disabled people, and others often overlooked in conceptions of US citizenry. Hsu's analyses demonstrate the inextricability of Asian American activism from queer politics, disability activism, and racial justice, and they consider how stories network individual experiences with resonant histories and struggles. Finding unlikely intimacies among individual and communal histories, Constellating Home provides tools for fostering mutual care, revealing harmful social patterns, and orienting shared values and politics.
Contemporary Asian America (third edition) A Multidisciplinary Reader
ISBN: 9781479849994

The third edition of the foundational volume in Asian American studiesWho are Asian Americans? Moving beyond popular stereotypes of the “model minority” or “forever foreigner,” most Americans know surprisingly little of the nation’s fastest growing minority population. Since the 1960s, when different Asian immigrant groups came together under the “Asian American” umbrella, they have tirelessly carved out their presence in the labor market, education, politics, and pop culture. Many times, they have done so in the face of racism, discrimination, sexism, homophobia, and socioeconomic disadvantage. Today, contemporary Asian America has emerged as an incredibly diverse population, with each segment of the community facing its unique challenges. When Contemporary Asian America was first published in 2000, it exposed its readers to the formation and development of Asian American studies as an academic field of study, from its inception as part of the ethnic consciousness movement of the 1960s to the systematic inquiry into more contemporary theoretical and practical issues facing Asian America at the century’s end. It was the first volume to integrate a broad range of interdisciplinary research and approaches from a social science perspective to assess the effects of immigration, community development, and socialization on Asian American communities. This updated third edition discusses the impact of September 11 on Asian American identity and citizenship; the continued influence of globalization on past and present waves of immigration; and the intersection of race, gender, sexuality, and class on the experiences of Asian immigrants and their children. The volume also provides study questions and recommended supplementary readings and documentary films. This critical text offers a broad overview of Asian American studies and the current state of Asian America.
Contemporary Asian American communities : intersections and divergences
Call Number: E184.O6 C666 2002

Once thought of in terms of geographically bounded spaces, Asian America has undergone profound changes as a result of post-1965 immigration as well as the growth and reshaping of established communities. This collection of original essays demonstrates that conventional notions of community, of ethnic enclaves determined by exclusion and ghettoization, now have limited use in explaining the dynamic processes of contemporary community formation.Writing from a variety of perspectives, these contributors expand the concept of community to include sites not necessarily bounded by space; formations around gender, class, sexuality, and generation reveal new processes as well as the demographic diversity of today's Asian American population. The case studies gathered here speak to the fluidity of these communities and to the need for new analytic approaches to account for the similarities and differences between them. Taken together, these essays forcefully argue that it is time to replace the outworn concept of a monolithic Asian America.
Global Asian American Popular Cultures by Shilpa Dave (Editor); Leilani Nishime (Editor); Tasha Oren (Editor)
Call Number: E184 .A75 G55 2016

ISBN: 9781479867097

Publication Date: 2016-05-16

A toolkit for understanding how Asian Americans influence, consume and are reflected by mainstream media. Asian Americans have long been the subject and object of popular culture in the U.S. The rapid circulation of cultural flashpoints--such as the American obsession with K-pop sensations, Bollywood dance moves, and sriracha hot sauce--have opened up new ways of understanding how the categories of "Asian" and "Asian American" are counterbalanced within global popular culture. Located at the crossroads of these global and national expressions, Global Asian American Popular Cultures highlights new approaches to modern culture, with essays that explore everything from music, film, and television to comics, fashion, food, and sports. As new digital technologies and cross-media convergence have expanded exchanges of transnational culture, Asian American popular culture emerges as a crucial site for understanding how communities share information and how the meanings of mainstream culture shift with technologies and newly mobile sensibilities. Asian American popular culture is also at the crux of global and national trends in media studies, collapsing boundaries and acting as a lens to view the ebbs and flows of transnational influences on global and American cultures. Offering new and critical analyses of popular cultures that account for emerging textual fields, global producers, technologies of distribution, and trans-medial circulation, this ground-breaking collectionexplores the mainstream and the margins of popular culture.
Global encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) history
Call Number: HQ73 .G56 2019eb

ISBN: 0684325543

This encyclopedia covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.
⁨The Routledge handbook of Asian American studies / edited
ISBN: 1-315-81751-9

DATABASES

America's Historical Newspapers
Provides searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states.
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
American Historical Periodicals
Provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century.
American Historical Periodicals
Provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America
A survey of more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States.
ERIC [ProQuest]
U.S. Dept. of Education database providing extensive access to educational-related literature.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.

JOURNALS & MAGAZINES

Journal of Asian American studies
ournal of Asian American Studies (JAAS) explores all aspects of Asian American experiences through original articles detailing new theoretical developments, research results, methodological innovations, public policy concerns, and pedagogical issues. The Journal also publishes book, media, and exhibition reviews. As a much-needed outlet for the increasing volume of scholarship in the field, JAAS provides an avenue for a quick and lively exchange of ideas. Journal of Asian American Studies is the official publication of the Association for Asian American Studies (AAAS).

SEARCH TERMS

The subject heading Asian Americans (used in the plural)was established in the mid 80’s and can be divided geographically. Its broader terms are Asians — United States and Ethnology — United States.

It can be subdivided under individual wars such as: World War, 1939-1945 – Asian Americans or military services United States — Armed Forces — Asian Americans.

It serves as a broader term for such subject headings as Church work with Asian Americans, Older Asian Americans, and Preaching to Asian Americans.

Asian Americans has been established in conjunction with subdivisions like:

Asian Americans — Abstracting and indexing

Asian Americans — Alcohol use — Utah

Asian Americans — Biography

Asian Americans — Books and reading

Asian Americans — Ethnic identity

Asian Americans — Mental health services

Asian Americans — Race identity

Asian Americans — Relations with Pacific Islander Americans

Asian Americans — Social conditions

This subject heading is also integrated into other subject headings and subdivisions:

Asian American families

African Americans — Relations with Asian Americans

Asian American churches

Asian Americans and libraries

Asian Americans and mass media

Asian American consumers

Asian American businesspeople

Asian Americans in literature

Asian Americans in mass media

Asian Americans in motion pictures

Asian Americans in popular culture

Asian Americans on television

Asian Americans in television broadcasting

Asian Americans in the motion picture industry

African American bisexual men
African American lesbians
African American gays
Asexuality - still a new field of studies; this heading is not wisely used yet. Some publications use "Sexual Attraction," "Sexual Orientation," or "Sexual Desire Disorders" as related subject headings.
Bisexual men
Bisexual women
Bisexuality
Coming out (Sexual orientation)
Feminist Theory
Gay men
Gay men -- Sexual behavior -- United States
Gay men -- United States
Gay men -- United States -- Biography
Gay men -- United States -- Psychology
Gay liberation movement
Gender Identity [includes topics such as genderqueer culture]
Genderqueer - see Gender Identity
Heterosexism
Hispanic American gays
HIV-positive gay men
HIV-positive women
Homosexuality
Homosexuality -- Europe -- History
Homosexuality -- Religious aspects
Homosexuality -- Russia (Federation) [example of an individual country]
Homosexuality -- Social aspects -- United States
Homosexuality -- United States
Homosexuality -- United States -- History
Intersexuality
Lesbians
Lesbians -- Sexual behavior -- United States
Lesbians -- United States
Lesbians -- United States -- Biography
Lesbians -- United States -- Psychology
Male homosexuality
Mexican American gays
Polyamory: Use Non-monogamous relationships or Open marriage
Queer theory
Radical Faeries (New Age movement)
Transgender people
Transgender people -- Legal status, laws, etc.
Transgender youth
Transgenderism
Transvestism
Transvestites
Transsexuals
Transsexuals -- Identity
Transsexuals -- United States

Last Updated: Sep 8, 2025 2:16 PM

Tags: Asian Americans, BISEXUAL, food, food studies, gay, Hispanic Americans, HOMOSEXUAL, Latino, Latino americans, Latinx, lesbian, TRANSEXUAL