Manuscripts
The featured manuscripts below are from the Islamic Manuscripts Collection, held within the Special Collections Research Center of the University of Michigan Library.
Clicking the thumbnail or highlighted title of a featured manuscript will take you to the catalog record for the manuscript. Within the catalog record, "Notes" provides additional information about the manuscript and (if the notes are extensive) can be expanded by clicking "Show all Notes."
Viewing Manuscripts
Online: Most, though not all, of the manuscripts are fully digitized and available online. Scrolling to the bottom of the catalog record and clicking the dropdown for "HathiTrust Digital Library" and then clicking "Full text" will provide access to the full scan of the manuscript.
In Person: Viewing a physical manuscript requires registering and placing a request through the Special Collections Research Center's online appointment system. To do so, scroll to the bottom of the catalog record, click the dropdown for "Special Collections Islamic Manuscripts", and then click "Request This." You'll be prompted to log in and then can create your request. Full instructions here.
Featured Manuscripts
-
Gayhān shinākht
Call Number: Isl. Ms. 773Isl. Ms. 773 is a late 19th century Arabic copy of Gayhān shinākht, an astronomical text. The manuscript includes a map of the Northern Hemisphere on p. 69, shown here. -
Nuzhat al-qulūb
Call Number: Isl. Ms. 274Isl. Ms. 274 is a 17th century Persian copy of Nuzhat al-qulūb, a cosmographical and geographical text. There is a map of Iran and its surrounding areas on p. 341 as well as a world map on p. 497, shown here. -
Kharīdat al-ʻajāʼib wa farīdat al-gharāʼib
Call Number: Isl. Ms. 606Isl. Ms. 606 is a late 16th century Arabic copy of Kharīdat al-ʻajāʼib wa farīdat al-gharāʼib, a cosmographical text. This manuscript contains a world map on p. 6, shown here, and a Ka’bah diagram on p. 102. -
Awḍaḥ al-masālik ilà maʻrifat al-buldān wa al-mamālik
Call Number: Isl. Ms. 215Isl. Ms. 215 is a late 16th century Arabic geographical text, Awḍaḥ al-masālik ilà maʻrifat al-buldān wa al-mamālik. It includes a map of the Mediterranean on p. 23, shown here. There are also many drawings of geographic features throughout the margins of the manuscript, such as on p. 39, p.43, etc. -
Natījat al-afkār fī aʻmāl al-layl wa-al-nahār
Call Number: Isl. Ms. 734Isl. Ms. 734 is an 18th to early 19th century Arabic copy of an astronomical text, Natījat al-afkār fī aʻmāl al-layl wa-al-nahār. There is a Ka’bah diagram on p. 33, shown here. -
Marifetname
Call Number: Isl. Ms. 826Isl. Ms. 826 is an early 19th century Ottoman Turkish copy of the Marifetname, an encyclopedic text including geographical, astronomical, and cosmographical content. The manuscript contains elaborate eschatological maps with the Ka’bah and Mecca on p. 52, shown here, as well as Jerusalem on page 53. Another copy of the Marifetname, Isl. Ms. 397, includes an especially detailed world map which is featured on the "Getting Started" page, though it is not digitized.
Facsimiles
The featured facsimiles below are held by Clark Library, located on the 2nd floor of Hatcher South Graduate Library. Digitized versions of these materials are not available at this time.
Clicking the thumbnail or highlighted title of a featured facsimile will take you to the catalog record for the item. Within the catalog record, "Notes" provides additional information about the facsimile and (if the notes are extensive) can be expanded by clicking "Show all Notes."
Viewing Facsimiles
In Person: You must schedule an appointment on Monday - Friday between 9am and 5pm. To do so, please email clarklibrary@umich.edu
Featured Facsimiles
-
The Book of Fixed Stars
Call Number: ND 2955 .K58 2022This Arabic facsimile is paired with an English commentary. -
Piri Reis' Map
Call Number: G3290 1513 .P4 1966 -
Piri Reis' Kitab-ı Bahriyye
Call Number: G1059 .P57 2014 -
Piri Reis' Kitab-ı BahriyyeCall Number: VK 865 .P66 1988This 4-volume book contains facsimile reproductions of the original Kitab-ı Bahriyye along with its text transcribed in modern Turkish alphabet and translated into both modern Turkish and English.
-
Kitâb-ı Cihânnümâ
Call Number: G 97 .K38 2008Contains facsimiles and maps from Kâtip Çelebi's Kitâb-ı Cihânnümâ along with commentary in modern Turkish and English.