African American Studies

The National Negro Congress was established in 1936 to "secure the right of the Negro people to be free from Jim Crowism, segregation, discrimination, lynching, and mob violence" and "to promote the spirit of unity and cooperation between Negro and white people."

Provides historical and current information on African American history, society, and culture in 28 topical chapters.

Contains serials related to African American religious life and culture.

Primary sources documenting the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the U.S. before the Civil War.

Provides full-text access to the complete backfiles of nine major African American community newspapers.

A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, periodicals, historical newspapers, and more.

A collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders.

Modern and contemporary African American poetry includes collected poems and individual volumes.

A full text database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Includes more than 100,000 articles in Spanish and over 400,000 in English.

Works of poetry, organizational records, print publications, articles, poems, plays, and speeches by Amiri Baraka.

Indexes journal articles, government publications, etc. on education and related topics.

Full-text access to the archives of 2,600+ journals and 35,000+ books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Includes bills, laws, Congressional publications, hearings, reports, Congressional Record, CRS Reports and executive agency documents

Descriptions, sometimes with full text, of doctoral dissertations & master theses from US, UK, Canada, Ireland, etc.

Primary sources for 19th and 20th century U.S. history.

Indexes over 5,000 journals and magazines, academic and popular, with full text included for over 3,600.

Premier resource for surveying the literature of psychology and adjunct fields. Covers 1887-present. Produced by the APA.