Health Equity

Black Women and Resilience : Power, Perseverance, and Public Health.⁩ by Kisha Braithwaite Holden, Camara Phyllis Jones, and Valerie Montgomery Rice

Health Equity by K. Bryant Smalley (Editor); Jacob Warren (Editor); M. Isabel Fernandez (Editor) Health Equity: A Solutions-Focused Approach is a comprehensive textbook that illustrates existing conditions of health disparities across a range of populations in the United States, positions those disparities within the broader sociopolitical framework that leads to their existence, and most importantly, presents specific ways in which health equity solutions can be designed and implemented. Presenting current theoretical foundations, cultural context, and evidence-based models and interventions all in one, this textbook provides students with the basis to achieve greater health equity in their communities. Edited by award-winning authors and featuring contributions from diverse experts in public health, sociology, psychology, and medicine, this groundbreaking text goes beyond a traditional approach to risk factors and disparities and emphasizes the central role that health equity initiatives must play in public health research and practice. The book is divided into three sections, with Section I focusing on providing the context of health equity research and practice. Chapters are structured in such a way that both new and experienced students in the field will develop a deeper understanding of topics such as prejudice and discrimination; frameworks and theories; and research and collaboration approaches. Section II addresses the current knowledge of specific populations impacted by issues related to health equity, including African American, Latinx and Hispanic, Asian, American Indian and Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander, LGBTQ, Veteran, People with Disabilities, and many more. Authored or co-authored by members of the community being discussed, each of these chapters summarizes how health disparities impact the group, ongoing population-specific models of disparities and equity, emerging programs for achieving health equity, coverage of the most relevant aspects of intersectionality, and concluding exercises such as case studies and current events. Section III then highlights the role of cultural humility in achieving health equity. With its solutions-focused and community-affirming approach, Health Equity provides graduate and undergraduate students of public health with evidence-based models to help advance health through diversity, inclusion, and social justice.Key Features: Origins and Theories - Discusses the sociocultural and political origins of health disparities and the major theories that underlie an understanding of health equitySolutions-Focused - Describes emerging models and gives best practices in designing new programsDiverse Population Coverage - Provides historical context, sociocultural dynamics, and population-specific evidence-based programs from the voices of the communities being discussedIntersectionality Perspective - Highlights the role that overlapping and interdependent identities play in promoting health equity and the interventions that build from this perspectiveCase Studies and Real-World Examples - Demonstrates how to apply health equity improvement approaches in different contextseBook access -Included with print purchase for use on most mobile devices or computersInstructor's Packet - With an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, Test Bank, and a Sample Syllabus

Indigenous health equity and wellness by edited by Catherine E. Mckinley, Michael S. Spencer, Karina Walters and Charles R. Figley.

Invisible Visits by Tina K. Sacks Although the United States spends almost one-fifth of all its resources funding healthcare, the American system continues to be dogged by persistent inequities in the treatment of racial and ethnic minorities and women. Invisible Visits analyzes how middle-class Black women navigate thecomplexities of dealing with doctors in this environment. It challenges the idea that race and gender discrimination - particularly in healthcare settings - is a thing of the past, and questions the persistent myth that discrimination only affects poor racial minorities. In so doing, the bookexpands our understanding of how Black middle-class women are treated when they go to the doctor, why they continue to face inequities in securing proper medical care, and what strategies they use to fight for the best treatment (as well as the consequential toll on their health).Based on original research, the author shines a light on how women perceive the persistently negative stereotypes that follow them into the exam room, and proceeds to illustrate that simply providing more cultural-competency or anti-bias training to doctors will not be enough to overcome theproblem. For Americans to truly address these challenges, the deeply embedded discrimination in our prized institutions - including those in the healthcare sector - must be acknowledged.

Just Medicine by Dayna Bowen Matthew Offers an innovative plan to eliminate inequalities in American health care and save the lives they endanger Over 84,000 black and brown lives are needlessly lost each year due to health disparities: the unfair, unjust, and avoidable differences between the quality and quantity of health care provided to Americans who are members of racial and ethnic minorities and care provided to whites. Health disparities have remained stubbornly entrenched in the American health care system--and in Just Medicine Dayna Bowen Matthew finds that they principally arise from unconscious racial and ethnic biases held by physicians, institutional providers, and their patients. Implicit bias is the single most important determinant of health and health care disparities. Because we have missed this fact, the money we spend on training providers to become culturally competent, expanding wellness education programs and community health centers, and even expanding access to health insurance will have only a modest effect on reducing health disparities. We will continue to utterly fail in the effort to eradicate health disparities unless we enact strong, evidence-based legal remedies that accurately address implicit and unintentional forms of discrimination, to replace the weak, tepid, and largely irrelevant legal remedies currently available. Our continued failure to fashion an effective response that purges the effects of implicit bias from American health care, Matthew argues, is unjust and morally untenable. In this book, she unites medical, neuroscience, psychology, and sociology research on implicit bias and health disparities with her own expertise in civil rights and constitutional law. In a time when the health of the entire nation is at risk, it is essential to confront the issues keeping the health care system from providing equal treatment to all.

Pediatric Collections: Social Determinants of Health: Part 1: Underserved Communities by American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) (Editor) Pediatric Collections offers what you need to know - original, focused research in a snapshot approach. Youths who are negatively affected by social determinants of health suffer adverse effects like increased risks of chronic health conditions and mental health issues. Part 1 of this series describes many underserved communities and the various ways their status affects their health. Members of these vulnerable communities include foster children, runaway youths, immigrants, Black, Latinx, Native American, and other children from minority racial groups, LGBTQ+ youths, and children living in poverty. This collection describes the challenges faced by each of these populations and how that adversity shapes their present and future health.

Pregnant While Black by Monique Rainford A tragedy is unfolding all around us and is receiving well overdue attention. Black women are three times more likely to die from pregnancy than their white peers. But Dr. Monique Rainford is working to better understand these disparities and do something about them. Pregnant While Black is a hopeful exploration of the issues pregnant Black women face in America. Within these pages, Dr. Rainford draws on over twenty years of experience working in obstetrics and gynecology to offer a primer on Black pregnancies and how to better care for them. She shares the successes and testimonies of Black women who have struggled during pregnancy and childbirth, anchoring the stories of these women with carefully researched facts. Despite medical advances over the last twenty years, for Black women, the overwhelming dangers of carrying and delivering children remain and it only seems to be getting worse. In Pregnant While Black, Rainford begins the work of "repairing the damage of the past" with an examination of the conditions that plague Black pregnancies. This important book carries the hopes and dreams of a generation looking to effect change, here and now.

Radical Reproductive Justice by Loretta Ross (Editor); Erika Derkas (Editor); Whitney Peoples (Editor) Practical tools and theoretical frameworks for understanding the fight for reproductive rights, from pregnancy to parenthood and beyond. Expanding the social justice discourse surrounding "reproductive rights" to include issues of environmental justice, incarceration, poverty, disability, and more, this crucial anthology explores the practical applications for activist thought on this ever-urgent issue. Radical Reproductive Justice assembles two decades' of work initiated by SisterSong Women of Color Health Collective, creators of the human rights-based "reproductive justice" framework to move beyond polarized pro-choice/pro-life debates. Rooted in Black feminism and built on intersecting identities, this revolutionary framework asserts a woman's right to have children, to not have children, and to parent and provide for the children they have. "The book is as revolutionary and revelatory as it is vast." --Rewire

Unequal Cities by Maureen R. Benjamins (Editor); Fernando G. De Maio (Editor); Julie Morita (Foreword by) Across the United States, Black people have shorter life expectancies than white people--reflecting structural racism and deep-rooted drivers of population health. But are some cities more equal than others? The elimination of racial and ethnic inequities--differences that are avoidable, unnecessary, and unfair--has been one of the overarching health-related goals of the United States for decades. Yet dramatic differences in health outcomes between Black people and white people persist, rooted in structural and social determinants of health. Nationally, a Black baby can expect to live four years less than a white baby. But mortality outcomes and inequities vary widely across cities. In Washington, DC, for example, the average life expectancy for Blacks is twelve years less than that of whites. But in other cities, mortality differences between races are less striking or nonexistent. If health equity can be achieved in some cities, why not all? This is arguably the most important health equity issue of our time. In Unequal Cities, Maureen R. Benjamins and Fernando G. De Maio gather a team of experts to explore these racial inequities, as well as the ten-year gap in life expectancy between our healthiest and unhealthiest big cities. Rigorous analyses give readers access to previously unavailable data on life expectancy, mortality from leading causes of death, and related Black-white inequities for the country's 30 biggest cities. The theoretically grounded essays also explore how characteristics of cities, including their levels of income inequality and racial segregation, impact overall health and Black-white inequities. The first book to specifically examine racial health inequities within and across US cities, Unequal Citiesoffers a social justice framework for addressing the newly identified inequities, as well as specific case studies to help public health advocates, civic leaders, and other stakeholders envision the steps needed to improve their cities' current health outcomes and achieve racial equity. A powerful call to action for health equity advocates and city leaders alike, this book is essential reading. Contributors: David Ansell, Darlene Oliver Hightower, Jana Hirschtick, Sharon Homan, Ayesha Jaco, Emily LaFlamme, Brittney S. Lange-Maia, Kristin Monnard, Nikhil G. Prachand, Pamela T. Roesch, Michael Rozier, Nazia Saiyed, Eve Shapiro, Abigail Silva, Veenu Verma, the West Side United Metrics Working Group, Ruqaiijah Yearby

Vulnerable Populations in the United States by Leiyu Shi; Gregory D. Stevens An in-depth look at disparities in health and health care, fully updated for 2021 Vulnerable Populations in the United States, 3rd Edition provides a general framework for studying vulnerable populations and summarizes major health and health care disparities by race/ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and health insurance coverage. This updated contains the latest statistics and figures, incorporates new information related to Healthy People 2020, analyzes the latest data and trends in health and health care disparities, and provides a detailed synthesis of recent and increasingly expansive programs and initiatives to remedy these disparities. In addition, the Third Edition offers new coverage of health care reform, the "deaths of despair" (suicide, opioids, etc.), and the global primary care initiative. Based on the authors' teaching and research at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and the Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California, this landmark text is an important resource for students, researchers, practitioners, and policymakers for learning about vulnerable populations. The book's Web site includes instructor's materials that may be downloaded. Gain a general understanding of health and health care disparities related to race/ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and health insurance coverage Access online resources including editable PowerPoint slides, video, and more Delve into the programs and initiatives designed to remedy inequalities in health and health care, including Healthy People 2020 updates Enjoy new coverage of health care reform, the "deaths of despair" (suicide, opioids, etc.), and the global primary care initiative End of chapter revision questions and other pedagogical features make this book a valuable learning tool for anyone studying at the advanced undergraduate or graduate levels. Additionally, it will prove useful in the field for medical professionals, social and community workers, and health educators in the public sphere.

⁨Racism: science and tools for the public health professional by Chandra L. Ford