Finding Books
Find books on energy engineering by doing a "Word(s) anywhere" or title search in U-M Library Catalog. A word search is generally the best starting point. If an appropriate title is found, you may want to use the subject headings listed with that title to guide further searches.
Online Reference Collections
These reference collections allow you to search topics in several e-books at once.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowAn online, multimedia encyclopedia and dictionary covering all major scientific disciplines.
- Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online ReferencesProvider of electronic versions of popular reference books in engineering and applied sciences. Titles include Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook and Lange's Handbook of Chemistry.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowComplete online access to McGraw-Hill's Engineering Handbooks.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windowOnline access to over 25,000 academic books published by Taylor & Francis and CRC Press.
Selected Titles on Wind Engineering
The following is a list of selected eBooks that are available in full text online through U-M Library. For many eBooks, you can download book chapters (or the whole book) and keep them!
Wind Turbines by ISBN: 9781108478328Publication Date: 2020In the multi-disciplinary field of wind energy, students and professionals can often be uncomfortable outside their own specialist areas. This textbook explains the key aspects of wind turbine technology and its application in a single readable text. Covering a broad range of multi-disciplinary topics, including everything from aerodynamics through to electrical and control theory, to structures, planning, economics, and policy, this reference is an excellent toolkit for undergraduate students, postgraduate students, and professionals in the field of wind energy.
Innovative Wind Turbines: an Illustrated Guidebook by ISBN: 1000766098Publication Date: 2019Innovative Wind Turbines is a tribute to the inventors, entrepreneurs, researchers, and companies that through their efforts have envisioned, designed, and constructed models and prototypes for wind energy devices. There are numerous concepts and ideas on ways to convert wind energy into usable energy, and this book examines the innovative, novel, or unusual concepts with numerous photos and historical examples.
Utility-Scale Wind Turbines and Wind Farms by ISBN: 9781839530999Publication Date: 2021Wind power is a pillar of low emission energy systems. Designing more efficient wind turbines and farms, and increasing reliability and flexibility, is an area of intense research and development. Organized into five parts, this book covers the aerodynamics of turbines and farms including layout; control techniques; environmental concerns including noise and bird and bat collisions; the intermittency issue including forecasting, storage and hybrid wind-PV plants; and offshore wind farms.
Aerodynamics of Wind Turbines by ISBN: 9781119405610Publication Date: 2020A review of the aerodynamics, design and analysis, and optimization of wind turbines.
Small Wind and Hydrokinetic Turbines by ISBN: 1839530723Publication Date: 2022There is huge potential for smaller wind turbines to provide clean energy around the world. Small wind turbines come in a variety of designs, and have similarities in principles and technology to small hydrokinetic turbines (SHKTs). SHKTs, in turn, can play an important role in hydropower. Small wind and hydrokinetic systems can even work together, for example, to power farms, communities, campuses, rural as well as remote rural areas, and island regions.
