History Librarian
Primary Sources
- Archives Unbound: Middle EastUS and UK government documents about the Middle East
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowProvides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
- Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- Cambridge Archive Editions OnlinePrimarily government documents from the UK
- Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 This link opens in a new windowDigital collection of documents issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices.
- Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 This link opens in a new windowDigital collection of documents issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new windowOver 60,000 images of original manuscripts related to Empire Studies sourced from libraries and archives around the world.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowIncludes Arab American newspapers and magazines from 1969 on.
- FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports This link opens in a new windowProvides CIA translations of newswires and broadcast services from around the world in full-text from 1941-1996.
- The Grand TourBritish travel narratives
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowSearchable access to 17 million+ volumes, with full text access to 6 million+ volumes.
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688.
- Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism This link opens in a new windowCollection of primary sources on the history of tourism from 1850-1980.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowIncludes bills, laws, Congressional publications, hearings, reports, Congressional Record, CRS Reports and executive agency documents
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCustom ProQuest cross-search of full-text backfiles of 30 U.S. and 32 international English-language newspapers.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowOnline backfile of The Times newspaper of London, England, covering 1785 to 2019.
- Travel Writing, Spectacle and World HistoryAccounts by American women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century.
- Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820Primary texts on women’s voices as agents or opponents of empire in the United States and abroad.
- Women's Magazine Archive (1846-2005) This link opens in a new windowSearchable archive comprising the full backfiles of 13 leading women’s interest consumer magazines.
Finding Secondary Sources
Use the Library Catalog to find books. Be sure to pay attention to the date and publisher of the book - the catalog does include older materials and primary sources.
- U-M Library Catalog Search This link opens in a new window
Catalog Search results will include everything in the University of Michigan Library physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.
Use these databases to find articles from scholarly journals.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
- America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- U-M Library Articles Search This link opens in a new windowUse Articles Search to locate scholarly and popular articles, as well as reference works and materials from open access archives.
- Index Islamicus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes materials on Islam, the Middle East, and the entire Muslim world from periodicals, monographs, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to the archives of 2,600+ journals and 35,000+ books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to scholarly journals & e-books published by over 120 scholarly societies & university presses.
Citation
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable online access to the 17th (2017) and 16th (2010) editions of the standard style manual.
Last Updated: Apr 28, 2025 1:47 PM
Subjects: Course Help