Search the Scholarly Literature in Library Databases
Library databases are specialized search tools used to identify journal articles and other scholarly sources (like book chapters and dissertations). Many databases have a specific scope of coverage that limit you to a particular universe of sources, like the scholarly literature of an academic field of study.
Getting the Full Text
In many cases, the full text or PDF of the article will be directly available in the library database. If you do not see the full text, then look for the "MGet It" link. This will open a new window and run an automated search of the U-M Library resources in order to connect you to the full text.
If MGet It is not able to connect you to the full text, you will be prompted to Ask A Librarian for assistance or to submit an interlibrary loan/document delivery request.
Recommended Library Databases
Start your research here:
- PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new windowPsycInfo is the top database devoted to the scholarly psychology literature, as well as related fields in the social and behavioral sciences. It is produced by the American Psychological Association and runs on the EBSCO database platform.
This database is designed specifically for psychology researchers and offers specialized search tools and filters that will help you narrow your search and focus in on your specific research topic.
More database options:
If you are not finding relevant articles in PsycInfo, try a multidisciplinary scholarly database that casts a wider net and includes literature from more overlapping fields.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCovers 12,000+ scholarly journals, plus selected books and published conference proceedings in all academic disciplines.
- Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links) This link opens in a new windowSearches for scholarly documents on the web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.
Want even more options? Consult the main Psychology Library Research Guide.