Research Guides: SW 650: Theories and Practices of Community Change: Concepts, History and Approaches: Understanding policy

Databases for Background on Policies and Laws

CQ Researcher, 1923 - present
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each article provides an introductory overview, background information , and pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions. Articles also provide extensive bibliographies for further research.

Consider using CQ Researcher to start your search. This database provides in-depth, unbiased research reports on social trends, health, criminal justice, education, international affairs, the environment, technology and the economy. Information is available from 1923 to current issues in today's news. Quick video guide to CQ Researcher from your librarian and a video from CQ Researcher below.

Highly Recommended Databases for Policy Background

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
In PQ Congressional you can look up the exact wording of bills, acts and laws, read Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports for extensive background on current and historic government legislation, and find Congressional Hearings and other Congressional documents. See further details on the Laws and Statutes" tab of this guide.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 15,000 sources of news, business, legal, and reference information worldwide.

CQ Congress Collection
Provides analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy. Also explains institutional and organizational history, the legislative process, and public policy decision-making.
Congress.gov
For free access to U. S. Congressional publications, laws, legislative activity, and Congressional Research Service Reports.
CQ Almanac
CQ Almanac contains summaries of all Capitol Hill activity from the previous congresses dating back to 1945. This is a good place to go for the "story" of how the bill became a law.

Databases for Articles on Policy

Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Contains references to nearly 2 million journal articles and other resources on public affairs and public policy worldwide.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Combined access to all ProQuest databases, covering many different fields and full text articles.
Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
A repository of research in the areas of accounting, economics, Latin America, and legal scholarship.
Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive full-text database designed to support the creation, implementation, or study of health policy and the health care system.