Library Contact
Jennifer Nason
Contact:
Hatcher Graduate Library, Room 209
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190
Website
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190
Databases for Articles on American History and Culture
Many of these indexes and databases are restricted to University of Michigan users. You may be prompted for your uniqname and password in order to access some resources.
- America: History and LifeCitations and abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage 1954-. Companion to Historical Abstracts.
- American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically sigificant periodicals.
- Black Studies CenterBlack Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It includes scholarly essays, periodical articles, historical newspaper articles, images, video clips, a detailed timeline, and more.
- Chicano DatabaseArticles on a wide-range of subjects relating to Mexican Americans. Records added since 1992 expand the scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. 1967-
- ERIC -- Education DatabaseThe ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. This version of ERIC allows you to limit results to peer-reviewed journal articles.
- Gender Studies DatabaseGender Studies Database covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
- Hispanic American Periodicals IndexProvides citations drawn from more than 400 journals, primarily in Spanish or English, which cover Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the United States. 1970-
- LGBT LifeIndexes popular and scholarly literature addressing issues related to the Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual/Transgender community.
- Women's Studies InternationalCovers the latest in feminist scholarship from the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.
Databases for Articles in Global Histories
- Africa-Wide Information (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA combination of two well-known databases, South African Studies and African Studies. It consists of more than 30 different database files from Africa, Europe and the U.S. with nearly two million records indexing articles, books, newspapers, government documents, radio and TV broadcasts, pamphlets, maps, theses, and music recordings.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowContains citations to western-language periodical articles and books published pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowProvides citations drawn from more than 400 journals, primarily in Spanish or English, which cover Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the United States.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
- Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowIndex of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.
- PASCAL and FRANCIS This link opens in a new windowIndexes 4,200 European-language journals in science, technology, medicine, humanities & social sciences, 1972-2015.
Databases for Articles in the Social Sciences
- Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new windowComprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
- Race Relations Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIncludes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAn index and abstract of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Covers 1800+ journals, back to 1952.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive resource of research, policy and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology and development, and social welfare.