Library Contact
Jennifer Nason
Contact:
Hatcher Graduate Library, Room 209
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190
Website
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190
Other Research Guides
- Social WorkProvides resources for social work research at the University of Michigan. Includes resources for interpersonal practice, data retrieval, management, policy, and more.
- Social PolicyA guide to resources to research policy for social work practice. Includes historical and current information.
Background information
Resources for background information or an historical overview can be found using Library search. Type your topic in the search box labeled "What Can We Help you Find?" on the Library homepage to retrieve books, databases, videos, Library research guides, and more. For more details on finding electronic books, see our guide, Finding and Using Electronic Books.
Electronic Encyclopedias
Specialized subject encyclopedias can provide quick background information, definitions, contexts, and further readings on topics within the scope of the work. Below are several encyclopedias edited and written by academics and researchers in the area of social change and activism. Use is restricted to U-M affiliates.
- Encyclopedia of Activism and Social JusticeCall Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781412956215Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of American Social MovementsCall Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781315704784Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social JusticeCall Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781442216068Publication Date: 2014
Ideas and Movements That Shaped AmericaCall Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781610692526Publication Date: 2015
International Encyclopedia of Social PolicyCall Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781136610042Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford encyclopedia of American cultural and intellectual historyCall Number: Available onlinePublication Date: 2013
The Oxford encyclopedia of American social historyCall Number: Available onlineISBN: 9780199743377Publication Date: 2012
The Oxford Handbook of U. S. Women's Social Movement ActivismCall Number: Available onlineISBN: 9780190204204Publication Date: 2017
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political MovementsCall Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781405197731Publication Date: 2013
