Women's Studies 402: Gender and Health Policy

The CRS works exclusively and directly for Members of Congress, their Committees and staff on a confidential, nonpartisan basis. Their reports are written at the request of members and provide good summaries of policy or background information on a matter of interest to Congress.

Government Accountability Office evaluates Federal programs and initiatives

ProQuest Congressional indexes and abstracts Congressional committee publications, including hearings, committee prints, reports, documents, and public laws. It includes the full text of reports and documents (1789-1969), hearings (1824-), Congressional Record (1985-1997), CRS Reports (1916-present), Statutes at Large (1789-), bill text (1789-) and Federal Register (1980-) as well as the Serial Set (1789-), the current U.S. Code and the Code of Federal Regulations.

Digital collection of legislative histories (all of the documents that come out of creating legislation) for the U.S. Congress.

Provides analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy. Also explains institutional and organizational history, the legislative process, and public policy decision-making. UM user only.

It is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

It allows you to search for comments on regulations.

The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

Provides bills, laws, government reports, GAO Reports, and Public Papers of the Presidents. Open access for all users.

Provides citations to U.S. federal government publications. Contains references to books, reports, studies, serials, maps and other publications. Topics covered include finance, business, demographics, foreign relations, public health and social issues.

Search the catalog to find older documents from Executive Branch agencies.

Information from the Federal government about HIV/AIDS prevention, testing, treatment, research, and using new media in response to HIV/AIDS.

Allows consumers to locate and compare private health insurance plans, hospitals and nursing homes, and provides information about the Affordable Care Act of 2010.

CDC links to vital statistics and records, "Health, United States," and other statistics by topic.

Health System Measurement Project tracks government data on critical U.S. health system indicators. The website presents national trend data as well as detailed views broken out by population characteristics such as age, sex, income level, and insurance coverage status.

Click on Legal Research to find Federal and state cases. Access limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).

Law journals (including international), criminal justice journals, Federal Register (1936-2000), Treaties in Force (1932-2004), U.S. Reports (1754-2002), Attorney General Opinions (1791-1982). UM users only.

Includes a United States Judicial collection covering: U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Circuit and District Court Reports, U.S. Courts of Specialized Jurisdiction, Early Federal Nominative Reports, Administrative Publications, and FJC Publications. UM users only

Describes how to read case numbers, understand the parts of an opinion, and find cases.