Research Guides: Earth & Environmental Sciences (Virtual Geosciences Library): Articles

Finding Materials

Finding Materials

U-M Library Catalog Search This link opens in a new window

Request Physical Items for Pick Up or Delivery
Access materials from off-campus
Document Delivery
for scans and to borrow material not available at U-M Libraries.
more...less...
Interlibrary Loan obtains items that are not available at the University of Michigan Library for the study and research of the University's patrons, including:

Books, dissertations, and microforms
Copies of periodical articles or short sections of books
Library Purchase Request Form
more...less...
Please use this form to recommend titles for the U of M Library Collection.
Ask a Librarian

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
OCLC union catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide

Already have a citation?
Use Citation Linker to find the full text.

Earth Science Preprint Sources

Earth and Space Science Open Archive (ESSOAr)
Community server accelerating open discovery and dissemination of earth, environmental, and space science research. Includes early research outputs, including preprints, presentations from major scientific meetings, and important documents of scholarly societies.
EarthArXiv
Preprint site publishing articles from all subdomains of Earth science and related domains of planetary science. Operated independently of any publisher.

arXiv Preprints This link opens in a new window
Open access to preprints in physics, mathematics, robotics, non-linear science, computer science and quantitative biology.

Article Databases and Indexes

AAPG Datapages This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to publications of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists and related publications.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications. Extensive environmental sciences subject coverage including but not limited to: climate change, land use, soil sciences, toxicology, water resources.
Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new window
Provides international coverage of engineering and applied science literature in over 5000 journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive geosciences literature index. Covers all aspects of geology, solid-earth geophysics, mineralogy, paleontology, petrology, geochemistry, geochronology, energy, and stratigraphy. Covers North America from 1666 and the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all USGS publications.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Earth sciences literature searching platform. Includes ejournals and books, integrated with GeoRef.

Karst Information Portal

Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links) This link opens in a new window
Searches for scholarly documents on the web, with the added feature of "Availability at UMichigan" links.
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
Serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available.
OneMine This link opens in a new window
A collaborative effort among multiple societies to create a comprehensive collection of mining and minerals based research.
OnePetro This link opens in a new window
Online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Combined access to all ProQuest databases, covering many different fields and full text articles.
Science Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Key index to articles from journals in science and technology. Use to find other articles citing a specific article.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier Books & Journals Online) This link opens in a new window
A platform providing access to a large bibliographic database of scientific and medical literature published by Elsevier. Hosts thousands of journals and e-books
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Combined access to Chemical Abstracts CAPlus, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT databases and Medline. Search by chemical structure or substructure, reaction, name, formula, etc., or by natural language query.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
International multi-disciplinary database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences. Indexes peer-reviewed journal literature, trade journals, books, patent records, and conference publications. Provides tools for tracking, analyzing, and visualizing search results.

TRAIL
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) database ensures the preservation, discoverability, and persistent open access to government technical publications regardless of form or format.
USGS Publications Warehouse
Provides access to publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.

Minerals Resources

American Mineralogist Crystal Structure Database
An interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals. Maintained under the care of the Mineralogical Society of America and the Mineralogical Association of Canada, and financed by the National Science Foundation.
more...less...
This site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals. The database is maintained under the care of the Mineralogical Society of America and the Mineralogical Association of Canada, and financed by the National Science Foundation.
Athena Mineralogy
more...less...
The first full mineral database on the Internet. All data come from literature; nothing is gathered or agglomerated from Web. The H. Strunz classification is used with the author's written permission.
Digital Rocks Portal
A data portal for fast storage and retrieval, sharing, organization and analysis of images of varied porous micro-structures. It has the purpose of enhancing research resources for modeling/prediction of porous material properties in the fields of Petroleum, Civil and Environmental Engineering as well as Geology.
Handbook of Mineralogy (PDFs)
Work on the Handbook of Mineralogy book series began in 1980 with the goal to gather in convenient form the data crucial to identification of all mineral species and to provide relatively up-to-date references containing information central to the definition of each species. The intent was to provide data sufficient to distinguish a species from all others. If additional information seemed desirable, primary or secondary references were given for that mineral. The Handbook presents data, not the background necessary to understand it.
more...less...
The Handbook of Mineralogy series is a Five Volume set authored by John W. Anthony, Richard A. Bideaux, Kenneth W. Bladh, and Monte C. Nichols, and published by Mineral Data Publishing. Each mineral known at the time of publication occupies one page of the handbook.

In 2001 the copyright for the Handbook of Mineralogy was given to the Mineralogical Society of America by Kenneth W. Bladh, Richard A. Bideaux, Elizabeth Anthony-Morton and Barbara G. Nichols and the remaining volumes were shipped to the MSA warehouse in Chantilly, VA.

Along with the copyright, MSA was given pdf files of each page of the handbook. These are freely distributed to the public on this website.
mindat.org
The mindat.org database contains information on minerals and the localities they are found at. This information is entered by an army of volunteers worldwide and then verified by our team of experts.
Mineralogy Database
last updated 2012.
more...less...
Contains 4,714 individual mineral species descriptions with links and a comprehensive image library.
Each mineral has a page linked to tables devoted to crystallography, crystal structures, X-Ray powder diffraction, chemical composition, physical and optical properties, Dana's New classification, Strunz classification, mineral specimen images, and alphabetical listings of mineral species. There also are extensive links to other external sources of mineral data and information.
RRUFF Project
The RRUFF™ Project is creating a complete set of high quality spectral data from well characterized minerals and is developing the technology to share this information with the world. Our collected data provides a standard for mineralogists, geoscientists, gemologists and the general public for the identification of minerals both on earth and for planetary exploration.
XRD Minerals Database
Powder Diffraction Database with the strongest three d-spacings and intensities for all minerals. This database is part of the Geolbases Collection, available for purchase on CDROM. The online version is free to use. It has a simpler search interface and generally fewer features/information/data than the Full Version. All fields can be searched individually or in combination.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
Covers the latest developments in chemical technology and related fields.
Ullmann's Industrial Chemistry This link opens in a new window
Nearly 1000 articles covering all aspects of the science and technology of industrial chemistry. Features include full search capabilities, hyperlinked cross-references, and keyword, author, and CAS registry number indexes.

USGS Mineral Resources Program
Mineral Commodity Summaries provides average annual prices in dollars per kilogram
Handbook on environmental due diligence in mineral supply chains (2023)
Handbook developed to help companies embed environmental considerations into their mineral supply chain due diligence procedures. The handbook builds on the leading international, government-backed standards on supply chain due diligence and responsible business conduct: the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises on Responsible Business Conduct, the OECD Due Diligence Guidance for Responsible Supply Chains of Minerals from Conflict-Affected and High-Risk Areas and the OECD Due Diligence Guidance for Responsible Business Conduct.

Geological Surveys

State Geological Surveys
more...less...
List maintained by the Association of American State Geologists
US Geological Survey
Geological Surveys Database
more...less...
The Geological Surveys Database contains publications from state geological surveys and factsheets from the U.S. Geological Survey.

For more information about which state geological surveys have publications in the Geological Surveys Database, please visit the Geological Survey Websites page. Please note that the database is updated monthly with new publications.

The Geological Surveys Database includes only a subset of publications from the U.S. Geological Survey, specifically the USGS factsheet series. If you wish to search the entire set of U.S. Geological Survey publications, please visit the USGS Publications Warehouse at https://pubs.er.usgs.gov/.

Records are added to or updated in the Geological Surveys Database on a monthly basis. Metadata for new or updated records are first matched to corresponding bibliographic metadata from GeoRef and are supplemented with additional metadata from the state geological surveys if available. PDFs are processed for full-text indexing. Next the updated metadata and the full-text of the publications are loaded to the Geological Surveys Database and the corresponding records are then made available for searching.

Earth & Environmental Sciences (Virtual Geosciences Library)

Related Guides

Finding Materials

Earth Science Preprint Sources

Article Databases and Indexes

Minerals Resources

Geological Surveys