Library Contact
Karen A. Reiman-Sendi
she/hers
Contact:
The University of Michigan
2178 Shapiro Library
919 S. University Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1185
Website
2178 Shapiro Library
919 S. University Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1185
Getting Started
This research guide is designed to provide quick links to some of the commonly sought sources of current University of Michigan information as well as to selected significant historical publications.
For in-depth and expert assistance on any aspect of the University's history, contact the staff at the Bentley Historical Library. The Bentley Historical Library houses the official archives of the University of Michigan as well as materials related to the history of the state. The materials held in this library can be found via our Library Catalog Search but the Bentley's selection of catalogs and databases, including finding aids and guides, is a good place to browse.
History
The following resources are useful for locating historical information about the University of Michigan.
- History of U-MA history site that leads to stories, exhibits, videos, etc. about the university. Features include: oral histories; timelines and histories from schools, colleges and institutes; digital exhibits; performances and artistic interpretations; and symposia and lectures. Sponsored by the Bentley Historical Library.
- History of the University of Michigan-DearbornTimeline summary of the U-M Dearborn campus history.
- History of U-M FlintShort history about the U-M Flint campus.
- University of Michigan, an Encyclopedic Survey This link opens in a new windowA rich and particularly detailed source for the history of the university from its origins in Detroit in 1817, through the first century of its operation in Ann Arbor with updates extending the history through 1975.
- The Michigan Daily Digital Archives This link opens in a new windowAs the student-run paper, contains not only the record of day-to-day life and opinions of students, faculty, staff, and alumni for 125 years, but also an unparalleled window into the social and political history of 20th-century America.
- The MichiganensianThe yearbook of the University of Michigan. Digitized copies are available through the HathiTrust Digital Library (see https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/000061791). The Medical School's yearbook is named Aequanimitas.
- Notable AlumniCompiled by the Alumni Association, a "Who’s Who" list of notable University of Michigan alumni. NOTE: Bentley Historical Library keeps the University of Michigan Alumni Files Index, a database of brief information on alumni and former students who attended U-M and who died prior to 1965.
- U-M Athletic Department Michigan TraditionsFacts, lists, athletics history, honors and awards, not to mention the words to "Hail to the Victors!"
Facts & Numbers
- 2023 Annual ReportFrom the Office of the President, highlighting leadership messages, initiatives, and major projects.
- Campus StatisticsFrom the Office of Budget & Planning, including institutional data, diversity data, and budget summaries.
- Division of Public Safety & Security Crime & Safety DataCampus data reported by DPSS.
- Facts & FiguresInfographic-like presentation of key data.
- Faculty and Staff Salary RecordReleased by University Human Resources, the official employee salary list. Available in print back to 1997, and online from 2011 to present.
- The Michigan AlmanacThe go-to website for data about the U-M Ann Arbor campus. Includes sections on student
admissions and enrollment, costs of attendance, student achievement, faculty and staff statistics, diversity indicators for all parts of the campus community, teaching and learning activities, research and technology transfer, budget, development, space, sustainability, and academic rankings. Note: The Office of the Registrar also provides some interactive enrollment data, via Tableau.
Governance
- University of Michigan, Proceedings of the Board of Regents This link opens in a new windowThese are the permanent historical records of actions taken by the University of Michigan Board of Regents.
- Faculty SenateAdministrative home page for Faculty Senate, Senate Assembly, and SACUA, all branches of faculty governance.
- Office of the PresidentEverything related to this leadership office, including a list of past presidents.
- Office of the ProvostThe office responsible for academic and budgetary affairs.
- University Budget BookGrey Book budget data (budget book) and university financial information, from the Office of Budget & Planning.
Events and News
- Happening @ Michigan (calendar)U-M Student Life listing of campus events.
- The Michigan DailyThe student-run campus newspaper. First issue published on Sept. 29, 1890. Digital images of print editions can be viewed on this site.
- Michigan NewsLinks to U-M media (newspapers, radio stations, press releases etc.)
- Michigan TodayFrom the Office of the VP for Communications, aimed at alumni and friends.
- University RecordNews for faculty and staff.
Research
- Deep Blue RepositoriesA largely public repository of an increasing body of the artistic and intellectual work of University of Michigan's faculty, staff, and student scholars. Among the collections are published works (access to some of which may be restricted to the U-M community) as well as dissertations, master's and honors theses.
- Michigan Experts This link opens in a new windowA searchable database of research expertise across selected disciplines at the University of Michigan.
- Michigan ResearchPublished by the U-M Office of Research, a monthly newsletter that summarizes key research news and trends from across campus. See also the Annual Report on Research.
Images
- Bentley Image BankContains over 25,000 images from the collections of the Bentley Historical Library.
- Michigan Daily Alumni Photographers This link opens in a new windowA collaborative effort of the University of Michigan Board of Student Publications, The Michigan Daily and Bentley Historical Library to preserve and promote the rich photographic heritage of The Michigan Daily. Provides documentation of the campus, the community, and the wider world and demonstrates the technical skills and aesthetic vision the photographers brought to their assignments.
- Michigan Photography (Stock Photography)Hundreds of images of all aspects of university life are available for purchase, from the VP for Communications office.
- University of Michigan Social MediaFrom the Office of Communication, the official site for university-wide social accounts, as well as college, school and program presences.
Miscellaneous
- Academic CalendarFrom the Registrar's Office.
- Campus LifeCampus-related information provided by student information assistants.
- Careers @ MichiganJob postings.
- Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Strategic PlanFrom the Office of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion.
- Maize Pages: Student OrganizationsIncludes news, events and organization descriptions.
Last Updated: Oct 31, 2024 12:53 PM
Subjects: General Information Sources